Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-06-14 , 20:56
JacquesBotha JacquesBotha is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Angry No signal on HD PVR

On my HDPVR there is currently no strength or quality on the signal, both bars are at zero.

The previous owners had a SDPVR and that was working fine. I've tested both cables to the dual LNB and they work, (hooked up one at a time to a working single LNB and my old decoder).


So to trouble shoot myself before I get someone out.......what should I be looking at?


Any advice?
  #2  
Old 2010-06-14 , 21:05
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 6,130
I would check your network settings on the HDPVR is correct if you know what you doing else I simply do a factory reset (Menu/Information Central/Information Central) Press i and 7 for Reset all Factory Settings
Pin is 9949

Then go back to Information Central. i and 3 for Rescan.

Graeme
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #3  
Old 2010-06-15 , 09:34
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 12,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacquesBotha View Post
On my HDPVR there is currently no strength or quality on the signal, both bars are at zero.

The previous owners had a SDPVR and that was working fine. I've tested both cables to the dual LNB and they work, (hooked up one at a time to a working single LNB and my old decoder).


So to trouble shoot myself before I get someone out.......what should I be looking at?


Any advice?
The HD decoder requires good reception on both HOR and VER transponders. If there is a problem here, the boot cycle does not always complete properly, and then other things start going wrong.

SO we have to know that the antenna alignement, especially the skew angle adjustment on the LNB is correct.

Tune to channel 101 (VER) and see what the signals strength and quality is like, then tune to channel 184 ( FTV) and see what the values are, both need to to have very good signal strength and quality should be 100% and not varying. If there is a problem here it is most likely thta the skew angle adjustement is out. the older SD decoder was much more tolerant of installation issues than the new HD decoders are.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131

Last edited by Geoff D; 2010-06-17 at 07:57. .
  #4  
Old 2010-06-17 , 05:50
JacquesBotha JacquesBotha is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Thank you Graeme.

Being new to HD PVR i did not know one must press the "yellow" button to scan -> neither did the call centre tell me. R400's call out fee later i found out! I intend to recoup this call out fee from DSTV...
Tags
hdpvr, quality, signal, strenght
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off