Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-02-23 , 10:01
AndrewLewis AndrewLewis is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default Flashing Light

Hi

There is a flashing light on the front of my HD PVR. It is the same light that flashes when a button is pressed on the remote, but we're not pressing the remote.

On Sunday we thought it was because we were watching "delayed", and again last night as we were watching from a recording, but even when I switched back to live TV, still found that the light was flashing.

There were no programmes being recorded while we were watching live, so the decoder shouldn't have been busy with anything.

I thought perhaps there is some other signal in the room, but even if I cover various parts of the decoder (to try and stop these signals) the light still flashes.

Does anybody know what could cause this?

The software updates automatically every morning, so it should be up to date.

Cheers,
Andrew
  #2  
Old 2010-02-23 , 10:13
nelis's Avatar
nelis nelis is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 200
Have you tried pulling out the remote batteries or removing the remote from the room ? Also a reboot might help.
  #3  
Old 2010-02-23 , 10:26
gambit gambit is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 401
If you have xtraview setup then this flashing light is signalling when the xtraview heartbeat is being transmitted or received. It should happen every 30 seconds.
__________________
XtraView Enabled | Primary: PACE HD PVR | Secondary: 1110 decoder | Twin LNB with 2X6 Multi-switch
  #4  
Old 2010-02-23 , 10:27
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 2,993
Hi Andrew
Two quick questions before I send off the query. Which HD PVR do you have (UEC or Pace)? Also, can you please let us know the software version (press MENU, select Information Central, select Hardware status, press right arrow twice and check the value for Load Ver / Var on line 3).
Thanks
  #5  
Old 2010-02-23 , 10:27
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 13,001
Welcome to the Forum,

(1) What does yopur install look like? Could you add these details to your signature, as it helps all to assist you with any issues you may have.
(2) Do you have XV activated? If so then the the light will flash approximately very 30 seconds, when a HB pulse is sent from the decoder to the secondary decoder
(3) There is only one other cause, is the reception from somewhere of interfering signals that look like remote command signals.
(4) Although the software setting is there, software updates are rare and are normally well advertised on the forum before they take place.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131

Last edited by Geoff D; 2010-02-23 at 10:29. .
Tags
flashing light, hd pvr
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off