Forum > DStv Products > Remote Controls > Remote Control for Primary Not Working
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-04-07 , 11:08
NewUser NewUser is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Unhappy Remote Control for Primary Not Working

Hi
Finally have DSTV - I have arrived

After spending more than 5 hours with 7 different multichoice call centre guys got the communication bet the primary (1110) and the secondary (PVR) going.

And then the remote for the primary stops working.

I've tried everything:
- the shift+i
- shift+exit
- removed power cable off decoder
- removed lnb cable off decoder

nothing

1. Do you think the problem is still to do with the Xtra View set-up
2. What else can i try on the remote (beside taking back to Multichoice)

Tx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2009-04-07 , 11:24
Barendb's Avatar
Barendb Barendb is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pretoria, Doornpoort
Posts: 1,017
The decoders are assigned to a specific remote command
1110 - TV1
HD-PVR - TV2
Make sure both are set on differant command sets.
__________________
4B - Dual LNB - 2x6 MS - HD-PVR[Out] - SD-PVR[Out] (XV Activated)
RF Dist: T-PIECE- SLX(4) Splitter, 3 x TVLINKS: LCD Plasma, LG LCD connected via HDMI Splitter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2009-04-07 , 11:40
NewUser NewUser is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Yup double and triple check the remotes
the 1110 decoder itself does not have the orange LED that normally flashes when using the remote
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2009-04-07 , 11:45
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 11,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewUser View Post
Hi
Finally have DSTV - I have arrived

After spending more than 5 hours with 7 different multichoice call centre guys got the communication bet the primary (1110) and the secondary (PVR) going.Tx
As a matter of interest why did you make the 1110 the Primary decoder iso the HDPVR?
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2009-04-07 , 12:06
NewUser NewUser is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Tried it the other way: got the infamous "Waiting for Commnuication E143-4"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2009-04-07 , 12:44
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 11,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewUser View Post
Tried it the other way: got the infamous "Waiting for Commnuication E143-4"
OH okay, but did you not try to find out why? It is definetely NOT because it cannot work that way.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2009-04-07 , 14:19
NewUser NewUser is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
but why would that affect the functioning of the remote control
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2009-04-07 , 15:43
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 11,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewUser View Post
but why would that affect the functioning of the remote control
nothing at all actually, just a side issue as raised in your opening comment.

The HD PVR is designed to "listen always" for relayed commands and HBs etc - does not need to be activated by activating TVLInk or otherwise ( see the installation document)

The SD PVR ( as a result of a "s/w misunderstanding") requires that TVLINK is activated before it will "listen"

The 1110 sounds like it is the same - any comments from the 1110 users?
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2009-04-11 , 22:19
: ) C4's Avatar
: ) C4 : ) C4 is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Zogg
Posts: 1,436
@ NewUser - has your problem been solved?
XtraView and remote Relay are totally independant and you should be able to use remote Relay without even knowing what XtraView is.
__________________
I don't believe in astrology. I am a Sagittarius and we're very skeptical.
~ Arthur C Clarke
Reply With Quote
Reply
Tags
primary, remote control, secondary, xtraview
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
© 2010 MultiChoice Africa (PTY) LTD. All rights reserved.
© 2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. | Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
DStv.com | Forum | Archive | Top