Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > New HD Decoders With More Record Features
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-06-23 , 19:03
sugarncre sugarncre is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 39
Default New HD Decoders With More Record Features

With Dstv adding more & more new channels it's going to get pretty hard for many to catch up with seeing as much of what they want to see.With PVR having one recording feature that means only one redording channel at a time.Why not release more expensive decoders out there that can do 3 or more recordings at once.I'm not saying that the current pvr that's available should be phased out.Let there be different decoders out there that vary in price range according to the number of recording features each decoder has.In other words the more recordings a pvr can do the more expensive it will be.At the moment the current hd pvr decorder with only one recording is the one many are stuck with.When Dstv first started hd channels it came out with it's first hd decoder that had 2 record features.Instead of keeping that hd pvr decoder it phased it off the market & came out with the current one which is cheaper but can do only recording at a time.It's time for Multichoice to give it's customers more options as far as hd pvr decoders are concerned.
  #2  
Old 2013-06-23 , 21:57
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarncre View Post
With Dstv adding more & more new channels it's going to get pretty hard for many to catch up with seeing as much of what they want to see.With PVR having one recording feature that means only one redording channel at a time.Why not release more expensive decoders out there that can do 3 or more recordings at once.I'm not saying that the current pvr that's available should be phased out.Let there be different decoders out there that vary in price range according to the number of recording features each decoder has.In other words the more recordings a pvr can do the more expensive it will be.At the moment the current hd pvr decorder with only one recording is the one many are stuck with.When Dstv first started hd channels it came out with it's first hd decoder that had 2 record features.Instead of keeping that hd pvr decoder it phased it off the market & came out with the current one which is cheaper but can do only recording at a time.It's time for Multichoice to give it's customers more options as far as hd pvr decoders are concerned.
There is, it is called 2 decoders in an Xtraview config

The price of 2 Tuners is the same as the older 4 tuners

But everyone moans of repeats after repeats after repeats....
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #3  
Old 2013-06-23 , 22:15
Simon Simon is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 2,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
There is, it is called 2 decoders in an Xtraview config
How is that either a sensible solution, or a helpful answer?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #4  
Old 2013-06-24 , 09:04
hilt_ctn's Avatar
hilt_ctn hilt_ctn is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 173
I think gwalkers point is that if you look around ( say Google ), the wider standard out there from most satellite tele providers is to use a version of xtraview to achieve this. That said, Tivo for e.g. has 4 tuner models.

For all its faults, I find our series recording intelligence pretty good. If you try record two shows simultaneously that clash, it simply moves one of the recordings out. And due to the number of repeats, it's usually moved out by 24 - 48 hours. So you never really wait long
__________________
SatCR LNB -> HD-PVR2P -> HDMI -> Yamaha RX-V371 -> HDMI -> Sony 40V300A

Last edited by hilt_ctn; 2013-06-24 at 09:06. .
  #5  
Old 2013-06-24 , 09:09
Misen75's Avatar
Misen75 Misen75 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
But everyone moans of repeats after repeats after repeats....
Yet more people want to record these repeats, and when they miss live broadcast while watching recorded programmes, they want to record more and more...
__________________
90CM DISH | UNIVERSAL TWIN LNB | EXPLORA (PRIMARY) | PACE HD PVR 2P (SECONDARY) | 50" LG LED HDTV | DSD 1131 (EASYVIEW).
  #6  
Old 2013-06-24 , 09:16
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NE Jo'burg
Posts: 5,382
With the recent development of an increasing amount of useful channels being added to the service, and given the tendency for S.A. households to have many viewing environments (I've had some personal experience of this in my installation days), something beyond existing XtraView options is certainly needed.

Certainly, as we've seen on the Forum in the past, far more capable decoders are available internationally.

But one step at a time... as regular Forumites know there are plans for extended online options in the not too distant future, but surely if not already under consideration MC needs to consider both a more modern dual-view type decoder option(s) as well as an expanded and perhaps more user friendly XtraView system.
  #7  
Old 2013-06-24 , 11:14
Dominic's Avatar
Dominic Dominic is offline
AKA Gadgenator (Changes remote batteries daily)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Margate
Posts: 1,667
I think there is a new HD PVR on its way releasing sometime in 2013
  #8  
Old 2013-06-24 , 11:15
KennethM's Avatar
KennethM KennethM is offline
It was a dark and stormy night.
(But because his installation was sound, his DStv reception was perfect.)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sundowner
Posts: 2,073
Xtraview lends itself to multiple viewing platforms, but I still feel multiple simultaneous recordings should be a decoder function
__________________
Explora, Explora MS + Pace 2 Tuner HDPVR, Xtraview activated, Quad LNB. 90cm Dish. Pace 4P 2 x 4MS Dual LNB separate install
  #9  
Old 2013-06-24 , 13:22
Carelk's Avatar
Carelk Carelk is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Boksburg
Posts: 204
Maybe a much bigger harddisk will go a long way. It will help prevent what was presented to me when I switch on the TV Sunday after returning from a weekend away. See foto attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Full.jpg (73.3 KB, 50 views)
__________________
4B setup: Pace HD PVR & SD PVR.
  #10  
Old 2013-06-24 , 13:36
Simon Simon is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 2,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennethM View Post
Xtraview lends itself to multiple viewing platforms, but I still feel multiple simultaneous recordings should be a decoder function
You've seen me link to this before. ;-)

Hopper

Whole home DVR is the only answer. Xtraview is a kludge which allows two completely separate and independent decoders to coexist under one roof in a relatively inexpensive manner.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR: features wishlist - what features do you think are missing? : ) C4 HD PVR 258 2012-10-22 09:22
More advanced search features Pinnekj°tt DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2010-09-27 08:14
HD PVR - Interactive features MD_Guyver HD PVR 0 2009-04-17 10:12
Cant record! J Gundlach HD PVR 4 2009-03-08 19:11