Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-12-11 , 17:27
Barrymore Barrymore is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27
Default Sound keeps on going off.

Every few minutes while watching a channel the sound suddenly
goes off. I then have to switch to another channel then back to what I was watching for the sound to return, before having to repeat the whole procedure a few minutes later.
The problem is NOT with the TV.
  #2  
Old 2012-12-11 , 17:46
gwalker gwalker is online now
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 6,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrymore View Post
Every few minutes while watching a channel the sound suddenly
goes off. I then have to switch to another channel then back to what I was watching for the sound to return, before having to repeat the whole procedure a few minutes later.
The problem is NOT with the TV.
What decoder do you have, how is it connected? Have you tried to reboot? Which channels is it happening on?
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #3  
Old 2012-12-12 , 09:41
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 5,652
Hi there,

Have moved your thread to the decoder section of the Forum - Standard decoders for now. When you confirm which decoder you have, I'll ensure it is moved to the correct section.
  #4  
Old 2012-12-12 , 10:32
Barrymore Barrymore is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27
Thanks.
It's a Pace PVR decoder. Problem occurs on all channels,
sometimes after a few minutes, sometimes after about 20 mins.
I've had the decoder for two years - no such problems until now, so connections cannot be a factor.
No audio problem when listening to an audio channel.
The Xtra view decoder connected to this PVR is not affected.
  #5  
Old 2012-12-12 , 10:38
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 5,652
I've moved the thread again, this time to the correct section. Just because it has been working for 2 years, doesn't mean that it can't be connection related - cables do age and perish, connections to your satellite dish do rust, your dish could have moved in the recent storms.... There could be a myriad of reasons.

The moderators here will assist to eliminate your decoder as a problem or if it is decoder, then they can assist you to address this.
  #6  
Old 2012-12-12 , 12:50
MC Fathima's Avatar
MC Fathima MC Fathima is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,229
please advise the following:
connection to TV - is vai HDMI/RCA?
- Settings: which soundtrack is the default?
- Settings: Surround Auto/Manual?
- Is it also resolved by doing a change of soundtrack by pressing Language button, or only by a channel change
  #7  
Old 2012-12-12 , 17:29
williepiet williepiet is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Welkom
Posts: 99
The same thing with my decoder after MC stopped the 3:30 reboots about a week and a half ago. Resolved with regular reboots from me, so I can cotrole the reboots and not surprised with reboots from MC while watching recorded programmes. I am happy to controle reboots by myself!
  #8  
Old 2012-12-12 , 19:54
Crusher Crusher is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swellendam, W. Cape
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by williepiet View Post
The same thing with my decoder after MC stopped the 3:30 reboots about a week and a half ago.
MC were denying they forced reboots a lot longer than a week & a half ago
__________________
60 cm dish <-> Dual LNB <-> 2 x 6 Multiswitch <-> PACE HD PVR 4-tuner.
No Xtraview, no other decoder.
LCD TV = Sony Bravia KLV40S400A; Home Theatre System = Sony DAV-DZ270
  #9  
Old 2012-12-13 , 05:35
williepiet williepiet is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Welkom
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusher View Post
MC were denying they forced reboots a lot longer than a week & a half ago
The last time MC force reboot was on Monday 3/12/2012 just after 3:30.I do not want to argu about this, I am happy they stopped it and I can controle it.
Wait more than 3 days to reboot, then the issues start, reboot the decoder every day at a time that is convenient for me and there are NO issues at all and I can view anything without any interuptions at any time that suits me.
  #10  
Old 2012-12-13 , 08:39
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 12,718
This is the same as a few years ago when on the SD PVR the advice was the same, coming from some forum members ( "reboot every 24hours")

__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound delay on all HD channels (Surround Sound) Lewis HD PVR 14 2011-10-12 14:23
SS2 HD: No sound via Surround Sound (stereo is fine) benitok Picture/Audio Quality 19 2010-09-13 08:27
Different sound levels channel to channel or no sound Chickie Picture/Audio Quality 5 2010-09-08 10:56
No sound on "Surround Sound" - Supersport HD2 Ermeric1 DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2010-08-24 23:24
Poor sound quality (Ambient sound overwhelming) stormers Picture/Audio Quality 6 2009-02-27 19:55