Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > Installation > Trying to activate HD-PVR before installation
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:11
chrisc chrisc is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montagu
Posts: 132
Default Trying to activate HD-PVR before installation

Customer lives on a farm outside Grabouw. She already has a 1131 receiver and dish.

There is no cell-phone reception at the house and she does not have a Telkom phone, on account of continuing cable theft

Have PVR, its serial number and serial no of smart-card. Also ID, name and address of customer

But cannot get through to person at call centre. Am told must phone when I get there, on telling them (4 times) there is no phone on site, am met with silence!

What to do please? I am going there on Friday and would like to fit the PVR on the spot.

Thank you
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on
  #2  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:14
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 12,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
Customer lives on a farm outside Grabouw. She already has a 1131 receiver and dish.

There is no cell-phone reception at the house and she does not have a Telkom phone, on account of continuing cable theft

Have PVR, its serial number and serial no of smart-card. Also ID, name and address of customer

But cannot get through to person at call centre. Am told must phone when I get there, on telling them (4 times) there is no phone on site, am met with silence!

What to do please? I am going there on Friday and would like to fit the PVR on the spot.

Thank you
Get her to bring you the 1131, set it up in town as it should be on the farm, set it up, take the kaboodle out and install, should work.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131
  #3  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:25
gwalker gwalker is online now
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 6,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
Customer lives on a farm outside Grabouw. She already has a 1131 receiver and dish.

There is no cell-phone reception at the house and she does not have a Telkom phone, on account of continuing cable theft

Have PVR, its serial number and serial no of smart-card. Also ID, name and address of customer

But cannot get through to person at call centre. Am told must phone when I get there, on telling them (4 times) there is no phone on site, am met with silence!

What to do please? I am going there on Friday and would like to fit the PVR on the spot.

Thank you
Integrated Services - Sat phone
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #4  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:33
chrisc chrisc is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montagu
Posts: 132
Not an option. Customer has limited mobility and certainly will not get someone to drive to Cape Town and back simply because MC are so hide-bound by their rules and regulations. Why should she?

Tried speaking to a supervisor, but "none available"
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on
  #5  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:34
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 12,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Integrated Services - Sat phone
I can see this Installer calls on a satphone, gets to the call centre and gets told he is number xxxxxxxx in the queue, waits for 30minutes, gets cut off because the satphone times out, tries again and maybe again, gets through setup the decoder completes that job, Customer is happy -------

Until the installation bill arrives:

decoder R 1500
Installation material R 1000
Normal Installation fee R 800
Transport R 600
Call the MC to set up the service R 20 000


Sure it will work ----
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131

Last edited by Geoff D; 2012-08-30 at 13:37. .
  #6  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:39
Merv's Avatar
Merv Merv is offline
A big, eagle-eyed baobab.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westville, Durban
Posts: 5,058
Would be easier to get her a new 1131/2 as well, get them linked up & activated in CT, then go install it

Offer to buy the other 1131 & get a letter & docs to transfer it
__________________
Twin LNB > Explora Switch > Pace HDPVR 2P + Explora (+UEC HDPVR 4U)
Video: HDMI > 4x2 switch > TVs
Audio: Optical > Amp
  #7  
Old 2012-08-30 , 13:48
gwalker gwalker is online now
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 6,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
Not an option. Customer has limited mobility and certainly will not get someone to drive to Cape Town and back simply because MC are so hide-bound by their rules and regulations. Why should she?

Tried speaking to a supervisor, but "none available"
I assume you are wanting to do Xtraview?
I will go with Merv's get another 113x unit.

PS. How did the client notify you?
I guess the client has a CB Radio or such to a neighbour who could call MC as last resort

The Xtraview will activation needs to be setup with the PIN with the decoders joined by the hip....

G
Plan C
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #8  
Old 2012-08-30 , 18:34
chrisc chrisc is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montagu
Posts: 132
She is going into the Somerset West office with the new HD-PVRs serial number and smart-card number to sort it out

It is not Xtra view, just a change from standard receiver to a HD-PVR.

She and I think MC's instructions to call centre agents should be changed. They will not budge from their standard questions and if you ask something, just re-iterate the standard theme again.

And a supervisor is never available. Do they get penalised is a customer asks for a supervisor? It seems like it, given the reluctance and excuses.

She can communicate via a VOIP phone from a transmitter on a nearby hill
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on
  #9  
Old 2012-08-30 , 18:54
Sankie's Avatar
Sankie Sankie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Golfpark, Vaal
Posts: 1,621
Plan C - whahaha!
__________________
Explora (primary) and Pace HDPVR 4t (secondary) - XtraView
UEC4t (idle)
Walka 7....and other stuff
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I activate my [Malawi-domiciled] DStv account to pay online? Sundu Service Queries 7 2011-02-06 16:21
Activate Xtraview? frikkie XtraView 2 2009-04-20 15:55
When must we activate XV by? greglsh XtraView 15 2009-01-17 10:15
How long does it take to activate XtraView? asteyn XtraView 7 2008-12-09 13:22
XtraView: HD-PVR, SD-PVR, Twin LNB, Multiswitch - How to activate dirkie XtraView 6 2008-12-08 21:56