Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2012-06-05 , 08:10
puggy puggy is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dennilton, Groblersdal
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickynoo View Post
Ive been away for quite a while.

Im going to do the upgrade, as spoken about in earlier posts, when finances allow - before the end of this year. IE. One dish feeding first a PVR decoder (View 1 and record 1) and then to another viewing point (just view 1).

Obviously I am going to need to buy a PVR decoder, is the one called HD PVR 2P the one I need?

With regards to the other decoder (the second tv) what decoder do I need, for previous posts it seems to be a 1131 decoder. I have a DSD 990 lying around waiting to be used, can I use it with this setup?

Currently I have a dualview decoder with 2 feeds coming from the dish. I want to change the location where the first decoder gets signal. My viewing environments are setup like so at the moment - a twin LNB brings the signal from the dish to the dualview decoder in the lounge, there it is split into TV! and TV2, TV1 plays on the lounge TV and is split by a video recoder to a bedroom (bedroom 1), the signal for TV2 goes directly from the dualview decoder to a bedroom (bedroom 2).

I want the entry point of the signal to be in bedroom 2 (1 signal to a PVR (View 1 and record 1)) and the other signal to go to the lounge to be split to bedroom 1 (normal decoder, no recording). Im not sure how this setup works - does one signal go to the PVR and the other to the other decoder or do both signals need to travel to the PVR before they are split and then one goes to the other decoder?

My questions:

How many signals will I need?
--If I need more than 2 signals (current dualview arrangement) then I will have to rethink this setup (additional cost involved).--
How far can a decoder be from the dish installation?
--Currently the dualview decoder is located about 10 m from the dish. In the new setup the decoder will be located about 30 m from the dish.--
Can I use the DSD 990 decoder in place of a 1131 decoder in bedroom 1?
Do I need a HD PVR 2P decoder for bedroom 2?

Since I live about 200kms from the nearest city (where I can get parts for a DSTV installation) I would like to know what I need beforehand. Your help in this matter will be greatly appreciated.
Using an HDPVR 2P and 1131 the set-up will be in this way: 2 cables from the twin LNB to a MS (multi-switch), 2 cables from the MS to the PVR, 1 cable from the MS to the 1131 and lastly 1 cable (HB) between the decoders on RF in and out.
__________________
*Lounge: Sony Bravia, HDPVR 2P (TV1), Twin LNB, 2x4 MS, LG DVD HiFi
*Bedroom: Samsung LCD, HDPVR 2P (TV2)
*DStv Premium on XV, DStv Access and DStv Easyview separate subscriptions
*AV MultiBox for viewing TV1 on TV2 and TV2 on TV1
*Idling: 1 x 1131 (re-packaged) waiting for XV+
  #12  
Old 2012-06-05 , 11:08
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
THank you for your help. Please help me clarify the following.

Can I use a DSD 990 in place of the 1131 decoder?

I subscribe to DSTV compact - is this available for PVR/Dualview?

Am I right in saying that only one subscription to DSTV is needed with the PVR/Extraview access fee (R65))?

Where do I buy a multiswitch and what is the expected cost?

You said -
"and lastly 1 cable (HB) between the decoders on RF in and out"
Please explain further on the RF connection between the decoders. I do not have back panel diagrams of the needed decoders in front of me.

Thankyou

Last edited by nickynoo; 2012-06-05 at 11:08. . Reason: Word correction
  #13  
Old 2012-06-05 , 15:24
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
Question

Do I understand this correctly?

What I need:
A HD PVR 2P
A 1131 decoder
A multiswitch
A PVR subscription
cables

At the moment I am using a dualview decoder with a DSTV compact subscription and Xtraview (a total of R325 per month). My subscription price will not change (unless DSTV raise thier prices).

The 2 feeds will come from the twin LNB to the Multiswitch (MS), the MS will split the signal into 3 inputs, 2 inputs will go to the PVR and 1 input will go to the 1131 decoder. A RF cable will go from RF OUT to RF OUT on the decoders for a heartbeat. You said (sorry I dont know how to use the quotation thingy on the forum) "The norm is for the two decoders to be connected RF OUT to RF OUT with a T-piece and the leg of the TV piece going to a splitter which goes to the TVs" Im not sure what you mean by the leg going to a splitter which goes to the TVs.

Also I would like know if it will be possible to change the 1131 decoder at a later date to a PVR decoder - by having 4 outputs coming from the MS?
  #14  
Old 2012-06-05 , 16:27
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
What is the difference in 1131 and 3U decoders - price? functions?

Your diagram helped alot but I have a question:
At the bottom of your diagram you have the 2 TVs
Am I to understand that after the RF signal has been split that it is plugged into the RF input of each of the respective TVs

The upgrading to from a 1131 to a PVR decoder:
Does there need to be the same HB setup used for the upgrade as is used with the HDPVR and 1131 scenario?

The splitter splitting the RF OUT signal - any type of splitter?
  #15  
Old 2012-06-05 , 17:30
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 12,996
What is the difference in 1131 and 3U decoders - price? functions?

The price is about the same. The new decoder is the replacement for the 1131 called the 1132. Both are UEC decoders, same functionality but I think the 3 U is more "future proof? ? Anyone know for sure??



Your diagram helped alot but I have a question:
At the bottom of your diagram you have the 2 TVs
Am I to understand that after the RF signal has been split that it is plugged into the RF input of each of the respective TVs

Yes

The upgrading to from a 1131 to a PVR decoder:
Does there need to be the same HB setup used for the upgrade as is used with the HDPVR and 1131 scenario?

Yes, except if you go to the 2P, you need 2 feeds from the MS


The splitter splitting the RF OUT signal - any type of splitter?

NO! IF you want to use TVLINK eyes, THEN the splitter must be an active SLX type splitter compatible with MCs tvlink eyes.

IF you use ordinary splitters, it is preferable to use splitters spec'd for 5 - 1000 MHz. IF you wnat to try and use tvlink eyes with this splitter make sure it has DC PASS on the ports used with tvlink eyes( red lines on the label)

IF the cables to the distant TVs are long these el cheapo splitter may give problems and also the HB signal may be adversely affected, hence why it is best to use SLX splitters.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131
  #16  
Old 2012-06-05 , 17:36
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
Thanx for all the clarification.
  #17  
Old 2012-06-06 , 13:32
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
Im a little confused with the RF OUT cable setup for the HB.

On the PVR setup
The TV is connected to the PVR by a HDMI cable
The RF OUT on the PVR - a RF cable connects to the RF IN of the TV

On the other TV setup
The TV is connected to the 1131 or 1132 by a RF cable

Where does the splitter come in? Is there a cable that needs to connect both RF OUTs on the decoders, is that where the splitter is - combining the signal from the PVR (the HB) and the output from the 1131?

Please explain this to me, Im very lost. As I understand it the heartbeat needs to reach each decoder - the HB cannot travel along the inputs because they lead to the dish and are not connected.
LNB SPLITTER
! ! !
MS V
TV---PVR --------------!! !--------------------1131---TV
! !----------------! !
!-------------------------------------------------------!

Is this the correct setup?
  #18  
Old 2012-06-06 , 13:36
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
I hope u can understand my diagram - this forum doesnt like spaces.

Last edited by nickynoo; 2012-06-06 at 14:20. .
  #19  
Old 2012-06-06 , 13:40
nickynoo's Avatar
nickynoo nickynoo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philippolis, Freestate
Posts: 28
.....................................lnb.......... ......................... Splitter
.......................................! ! ............................................!
......................................ms ..........................................v
tv---pvr --------------!! !--------------------1131---tv
!............! !----------------! !.......................................!
!-------------------------------------------------------!
  #20  
Old 2012-06-06 , 14:19
puggy puggy is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dennilton, Groblersdal
Posts: 473
@nickynoo- here is a simple connection. Connect 2 cables from the twin LNB to a 2x4 MS. 2 cables from the MS to your HDPVR. 1 cable from the MS to your 1131 or 1132. 1 cable from RF IN on the PVR to RF OUT 1131 or 1132. This a simplest connection for beginners and forget about splitters & tv eyes of this world. You'll learn about them after getting this correct.
__________________
*Lounge: Sony Bravia, HDPVR 2P (TV1), Twin LNB, 2x4 MS, LG DVD HiFi
*Bedroom: Samsung LCD, HDPVR 2P (TV2)
*DStv Premium on XV, DStv Access and DStv Easyview separate subscriptions
*AV MultiBox for viewing TV1 on TV2 and TV2 on TV1
*Idling: 1 x 1131 (re-packaged) waiting for XV+
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect my DStv decoder to my LG DVD Home Theater Recorder Sonika Standard decoder 1 2011-11-23 15:55
DSTV to AMP to Plasma setup famousgrouse Installation 1 2008-12-13 10:24