Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > Installation > Technical info: Dual view installation
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-12-02 , 16:36
Emanuel Emanuel is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Question Technical info: Dual view installation

My present DSTV installation set-up is dual view, with a DSD 1110(+2) primary decoder and a HD PVR secondary decoder, with a SAT CR twin LNB. The primary decoder is also used as a single view at a different location.
My questions are:
1. Is there a twin LNB available with HD capacity on both circuits? If not, is such a development envisaged and if so, when? The alternative of installing separate dishes does seem technically out-dated.
2. If the response to no 1 is negative, can the present primary decoder (1110) be replaced with a second HD PVR decoder with non HD viewing on that circuit? The alternative of switching the present primary and secondary decoders is not practical in the existing set-up. A second HD PVR as primary decoder would however enable HD viewing and programme recording at the second location.
Thank you. I await your response.
  #2  
Old 2011-12-03 , 09:28
HennieP's Avatar
HennieP HennieP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 48
If you wish to replace the DSD with a 2P HD PVR, you can use a SAT-Cr II.

Have a look at the 2nd example on this page.

Last edited by HennieP; 2011-12-03 at 09:32. .
  #3  
Old 2011-12-03 , 09:31
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,677
Hi Emanuel and welcome to the forum,

Are the decoders in the same room?

A twin LNB can be hooked up to either a 2x4 or 2x6 mutliswitch which can split the twin LNB output to either 4 or 6 outputs. For two Pace 2 P decoders, you will need a 2x4 MS.

Your alternatives are to use a quad LNB (4 LNB feeds) or a SATCR LNB with two legacy ports instead of just the one as you currently seem to have. I don't know too much about LNBs, so you would be better off talking to a reputable installer or wait for someone else to respond. If the decoders are quite a distance apart, it would indeed be best to get a second dish to compensate for signal loss over the distance.

The HDPVRs are not designed to operate with a single LNB input.
The LNB input does not determine HD capability. The Pace 2P just needs two inputs - one for live TV and the second for recording + EPG info + BoxOffice/OnDemand downloads.

On a side note:
Remember that you can't simply replace the 1110 decoder with another under the same Xtraview setup. You will have to get the call centre to deactivate the current Xtraview setup and reactivate it with the old HDPVR and the new one.
__________________
Sent from my 486SX2 using Internet Explorer 2.0 for Windows 3.1

31cm B&W TV

SABC 1 only, weather permitting

Quote:
Does this rag smell of chloroform to you?
  #4  
Old 2011-12-03 , 09:36
HennieP's Avatar
HennieP HennieP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 48
You can use a SAT CR with two legacy ports - See the 2nd example on this page.
  #5  
Old 2011-12-03 , 11:24
HennieP's Avatar
HennieP HennieP is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG View Post
...On a side note:
Remember that you can't simply replace the 1110 decoder with another under the same Xtraview setup. You will have to get the call centre to deactivate the current Xtraview setup and reactivate it with the old HDPVR and the new one.
I might be mistaken, but I was recently told this is no longer a requirement - deactivating while the decoders are connected. Can anyone confirm?

(No problem JG)
  #6  
Old 2011-12-03 , 12:42
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 12,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by HennieP View Post
I might be mistaken, but I was recently told this is no longer a requirement - deactivating while the decoders are connected. Can anyone confirm?

(No problem JG)
NO you must break the link between the 2 existing decoders before activating a new pairing and it is better to do this when the 2 old decoders are still in place as you can then confirm that the 2 decoders now operate independently of each other.

Of course it is possible for MC to break the link but generally, the normal call centre people struggle with this operation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emanuel View Post
My present DSTV installation set-up is dual view, with a DSD 1110(+2) primary decoder and a HD PVR secondary decoder, with a SAT CR twin LNB. The primary decoder is also used as a single view at a different location.
My questions are:
1. Is there a twin LNB available with HD capacity on both circuits? If not, is such a development envisaged and if so, when? The alternative of installing separate dishes does seem technically out-dated.
2. If the response to no 1 is negative, can the present primary decoder (1110) be replaced with a second HD PVR decoder with non HD viewing on that circuit? The alternative of switching the present primary and secondary decoders is not practical in the existing set-up. A second HD PVR as primary decoder would however enable HD viewing and programme recording at the second location.
Thank you. I await your response.
(1) LNBs have no effect on the HD capability ---- it is the decoder that determines if it is able to decode HD signals.
(2) The decision to use 2 antennas is about the distance needed to run RF cables from a single antenna position to each decoder point and is preferable when the cable distances require it.
(3) The SATCR with 2 legacy ports ( what you are calling a SATCR TWIN) can be used to feed two HD PVRs, where one decoder uses the SATCR connection and the other uses both legacy ports.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131

Last edited by Geoff D; 2011-12-06 at 23:44. .
  #7  
Old 2011-12-03 , 12:45
Emanuel Emanuel is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default Manie

Thank you for your prompt response. You have been most helpful.
  #8  
Old 2011-12-05 , 09:05
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 5,391
I've moved this thread over to the installation section, as it has nothing to do with General and everything with *ahem* installations.
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Installation Guide - Signal Splitting and Combining MC Nicholas Installation 35 2014-03-19 07:25
Single View to Dual View HDPVR Upgrade Kloon Installation 3 2011-05-06 11:12
Dual View: Unable to access Dish Installation Dennis Standard decoder 8 2010-12-19 15:28
Downgrading from SD Dual View PVR to Single View PVR spiff SD PVR 2 2010-10-19 12:40
Install XtraView from a Dual View 1 installation stillie XtraView 2 2010-10-11 13:24