Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-02-06 , 08:06
Prenash Prenash is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Default SD_PVR frequency setting

hi guys..

my SDPVR was rest to factory default.. can anyone pls give me the frequency settings for a dual lnb installation in the Pretoria area. channels are functional but the frequency values look strange?? ... ...
appreciate any advise.

regards
prenash
__________________
SATCR LNB on 90cm dish
EXPLORA (Primary)[RF IN] -> PACE 4P HDPVR (Secondary)[RF OUT] <EXPLORA MS>
XtraView Active and functional .
  #2  
Old 2009-02-06 , 20:04
CASPER CASPER is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 272
Your question does not make a lot of sense, can you maybe expand a bit?
  #3  
Old 2009-02-07 , 10:46
Prenash Prenash is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by CASPER View Post
Your question does not make a lot of sense, can you maybe expand a bit?

sure CASPER ... sorry .. it was clear in my head - what i was asking but not on "paper"

my home network settings was set up by MC during installation..
unfortunately, a factory default was done recently and i am not sure if i lost any configured values...

these are my current values after the factory reset...

Home Network : DSTV PAS 7
LNB: dual
LNB lo freq: 9750
LNB hi freq: 11750
Freq: 11678
Symbol rate: 27500

I am not sure if these are correct for the Pretoria area. some how i remember a different value of 10700 at LNB hi freq ?

Just want to confirm all is correct ...

thanks..
Prenash
__________________
SATCR LNB on 90cm dish
EXPLORA (Primary)[RF IN] -> PACE 4P HDPVR (Secondary)[RF OUT] <EXPLORA MS>
XtraView Active and functional .
  #4  
Old 2009-02-07 , 11:11
CASPER CASPER is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prenash View Post
:I am not sure if these are correct for the Pretoria area. some how i remember a different value of 10700 at LNB hi freq ?

:
The area does not matter, the signal comes from a satelite so everybody will receive it at the same frequency. Mine is set at 10700 for the LNB hi freq, but if all your channels are working correctly, do not change anything.
  #5  
Old 2009-02-09 , 06:28
Prenash Prenash is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
thanks CASPER ..
reason i asked is becos.. at the holiday complex in San Lameer there are 8 different networks with all different customised freq settings just to watch DSTV and SABC ... but then, it could be becos of the communial setup
__________________
SATCR LNB on 90cm dish
EXPLORA (Primary)[RF IN] -> PACE 4P HDPVR (Secondary)[RF OUT] <EXPLORA MS>
XtraView Active and functional .
  #6  
Old 2009-02-09 , 08:43
MC Emmanuel's Avatar
MC Emmanuel MC Emmanuel is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prenash View Post
thanks CASPER ..
reason i asked is becos.. at the holiday complex in San Lameer there are 8 different networks with all different customised freq settings just to watch DSTV and SABC ... but then, it could be becos of the communial setup
True, communal setups usually configure a separate network for each horizontal transport stream on the broadcast network.

Your PVR should automatically populate its network configuration screen with the correct network parameters if you select DStv Pas 7 on the Dish Installation menu. However FYI, the settings are as follows (DStv IS7 only):

LNB Power: On
LNB Mode: Dual Frequency
LNB Lo Freq: 9750
LNB Hi Freq: 10700
Frequency: 11594
Symbol Rate: 27500
FEC: 5/6
Polarisation: Vertical
Use NIT: Yes

You may want to confirm whether you are getting all authorised DStv channels with your current decoder settings? If not, please try the above settings.

Please note that if you live in a complex (sharing the satellite dish) you will have to get communal settings specific to your complex for your body corporate. Those settings will only affect networks 2 onwards. The home network however remains unchanged.

Kind regards
  #7  
Old 2009-02-09 , 14:15
Prenash Prenash is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
thanks MC... appreciate the reply...
__________________
SATCR LNB on 90cm dish
EXPLORA (Primary)[RF IN] -> PACE 4P HDPVR (Secondary)[RF OUT] <EXPLORA MS>
XtraView Active and functional .
  #8  
Old 2009-03-13 , 09:59
tmosala tmosala is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Emmanuel View Post
True, communal setups usually configure a separate network for each horizontal transport stream on the broadcast network.

Your PVR should automatically populate its network configuration screen with the correct network parameters if you select DStv Pas 7 on the Dish Installation menu. However FYI, the settings are as follows (DStv IS7 only):

LNB Power: On
LNB Mode: Dual Frequency
LNB Lo Freq: 9750
LNB Hi Freq: 10700
Frequency: 11594
Symbol Rate: 27500
FEC: 5/6
Polarisation: Vertical
Use NIT: Yes

You may want to confirm whether you are getting all authorised DStv channels with your current decoder settings? If not, please try the above settings.

Please note that if you live in a complex (sharing the satellite dish) you will have to get communal settings specific to your complex for your body corporate. Those settings will only affect networks 2 onwards. The home network however remains unchanged.

Kind regards
On the extraview manual it says i must use the lowest possible frequencies to minimise the cable losses how do i change the frequecy?

Last edited by tmosala; 2009-03-13 at 10:00. . Reason: grama
  #9  
Old 2009-03-13 , 12:23
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 667
this info should be in a sticky.
__________________
90cm dish; dual LNB; Explora Switch; HD-PVR2 + Explora in lounge; XV heartbeat via t-piece; Philips 42 LCD 42PFL7409/98 via HDMI and Sony 42" 576p panel via composite; Sony surround amp fed via optical
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off