Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Just when you think you have seen everything ....
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-10-10 , 10:56
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 89
Hi All

Just some feedback from Tech Support - apologies for the delay in this post:

The HD decoders are meant to only display and record the HD version of channels.

There are cases where series recordings may have been scheduled on an SD channel and that channel later became available in HD. In such cases where you had scheduled the recording on the HD channel as well you will find that both the SD and HD recordings will take place. You would need to locate the series schedule for the SD channel and cancel that series recording.

There is no plan to have an option to select between SD and HD versions of a channel.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-10-10 , 15:35
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Sandipa View Post
Hi All

Just some feedback from Tech Support - apologies for the delay in this post:

The HD decoders are meant to only display and record the HD version of channels.

There are cases where series recordings may have been scheduled on an SD channel and that channel later became available in HD. In such cases where you had scheduled the recording on the HD channel as well you will find that both the SD and HD recordings will take place. You would need to locate the series schedule for the SD channel and cancel that series recording.

There is no plan to have an option to select between SD and HD versions of a channel.

Thanks
Okay that sort of makes sense. But not because the channel concerned was upgraded and the settings were set when the channel was still SD only.

The issues I had could have been because it takes so long for services to re-authenticate after a decoder was off for a while.

It may have been that the same happened her? the decoder first came back without HD access, then later after I set the settings, HD was restored ??
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-10-10 , 15:36
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 89
Hi Geoff - Ill pass this info onto tech support for comment. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Today , 10:12
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 89
Hi Geoff

It may be possible in the case where the decoder has been switched off for a long time and you don't allow the decoder to do a scan on boot up.
But if there is such a corner case it should not happen often.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Today , 12:02
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,323
Well yes, the decoders were off or 4 weeks, and ever since then these issues arise.

I do not believe it should happen at all. Once a decoder is switched on again, the decoder should restore just as if it was a new installation.

There I absolutely no point these days to leave decoders on drawing power in the feint hope that when you return from holiday or a longer trip away from home. The decoders need so much baby sitting on a daily basis that virtually all value one hopes to get form leaving it on is completely lost. Switching it of removes any expectation of having anything to watch on your return.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; Today at 12:05. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, I think I just killed my sdpvr orinoco PVR Decoders 4 2016-07-27 12:21
Short periods of content loss seen on some recordings Optimist Picture/Audio Quality 3 2013-06-26 09:06
Come Dine With Me (UK..) SEEN IT! NickyWatson1 DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 7 2012-05-25 09:20
"Don't believe everything you hear on 1st of April, but you can believe everything yo Dominic DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 23 2012-03-23 07:01