Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Catch Up > CatchUp keyboard buttons not working
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-09-05 , 11:00
uelmaree123's Avatar
uelmaree123 uelmaree123 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Default CatchUp keyboard buttons not working

Hi MC,

Hope all is well...

I watch CatchUp online (Chrome, Windows 10).

So, my steps are:
Find movie
Click PLAY button in centre of movie
Double-click for full screen mode

Every time I watch a movie, when I need to pause I hit the spacebar on my keyboard. This doesn't pause the movie but instead shows a quick message: "Press ESC to exit full screen". Left clicking on the movie also then has no affect.

I have to move the mouse to the bottom left of the player and click on the PAUSE button there for it to actually pause.

After I've done that, then only does the spacebar/left-click actually work for pausing/unpausing.

Any thoughts on what's going on and why spacebar never works at first?

Thanks.
__________________
Windows 10 | Chrome browser | Afrihost 8Mbps adsl unshaped | Explora decoder
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-09-07 , 22:07
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by uelmaree123 View Post
Hi MC,

Hope all is well...

I watch CatchUp online (Chrome, Windows 10).

So, my steps are:
Find movie
Click PLAY button in centre of movie
Double-click for full screen mode

Every time I watch a movie, when I need to pause I hit the spacebar on my keyboard. This doesn't pause the movie but instead shows a quick message: "Press ESC to exit full screen". Left clicking on the movie also then has no affect.

I have to move the mouse to the bottom left of the player and click on the PAUSE button there for it to actually pause.

After I've done that, then only does the spacebar/left-click actually work for pausing/unpausing.

Any thoughts on what's going on and why spacebar never works at first?

Thanks.
Hi uelmaree123

Sorry to keep you waiting.

On which title and episode were you having this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-09-08 , 08:06
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
Hi uelmaree123

Sorry to keep you waiting.

On which title and episode were you having this issue?
Hi Grace, I think you need to read it again - he states it's with movies, not a series, and says it's with any one he chooses to view.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-09-08 , 10:18
uelmaree123's Avatar
uelmaree123 uelmaree123 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Hi Grace, yup its with every movie/series I try.
__________________
Windows 10 | Chrome browser | Afrihost 8Mbps adsl unshaped | Explora decoder
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-09-10 , 14:52
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by uelmaree123 View Post
Hi Grace, yup its with every movie/series I try.
Hi uelmaree123

May I have the names of the movies/series you tried, so I can forward to the teams involved. As I have tried a few on my end, and they seem okay.

@Optimist - I might have missed that .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-09-10 , 14:59
uelmaree123's Avatar
uelmaree123 uelmaree123 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
Hi uelmaree123

May I have the names of the movies/series you tried, so I can forward to the teams involved. As I have tried a few on my end, and they seem okay.

@Optimist - I might have missed that .
Literally EVERY movie I've tried for months. Elsa&Fred, The Tourist, See Spot Run, Da Vinci Code...
__________________
Windows 10 | Chrome browser | Afrihost 8Mbps adsl unshaped | Explora decoder
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-09-12 , 14:05
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by uelmaree123 View Post
Literally EVERY movie I've tried for months. Elsa&Fred, The Tourist, See Spot Run, Da Vinci Code...
Hi uelmaree123

I'm checking with the platforms team on this, an update to follow soonest.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-09-12 , 14:53
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
Hi uelmaree123

I'm checking with the platforms team on this, an update to follow soonest.
Our web team suggest that you rather double click in the video window (to maximise it) then press spacebar to play the video. This way the video remains in focus, and subsequent space bar presses will function as expected.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-09-12 , 15:06
uelmaree123's Avatar
uelmaree123 uelmaree123 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
Our web team suggest that you rather double click in the video window (to maximise it) then press spacebar to play the video. This way the video remains in focus, and subsequent space bar presses will function as expected.
Thanks Grace, that does work Appreciate it. I guess I can get used to doing it that way.

It just seems a bit silly that clicking play first and then going to full screen messes it up.....
Where going to full screen first and then clicking play holds the focus.

Oh well. Thanks again to your team for figuring that one out.
__________________
Windows 10 | Chrome browser | Afrihost 8Mbps adsl unshaped | Explora decoder
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-09-15 , 13:08
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by uelmaree123 View Post
Thanks Grace, that does work Appreciate it. I guess I can get used to doing it that way.

It just seems a bit silly that clicking play first and then going to full screen messes it up.....
Where going to full screen first and then clicking play holds the focus.

Oh well. Thanks again to your team for figuring that one out.
Hi uelmaree123

Only a pleasure .
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colour buttons on remote mohsinismail Remote Controls 6 2012-08-17 08:02
Coloured Buttons not working?!!? Robert1 Remote Controls 1 2009-03-22 21:22
No Descriptive Function Text for HD-PVR Remote's Colour Buttons CBR:. HD PVR 5 2009-01-07 18:47
Pressing buttons during HDMI negotiations Theo HD PVR 1 2008-11-19 10:18