Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-09-07 , 15:20
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
I have looped in the relevant teams to assist with the 5.1 sound on CU+. Awaiting their feedback regarding the matter.
Thanks very much. Although, there are some titles that are 5.1 on CU+. All HD titles on CU+ should have a 5.1 soundtrack.

The BIG problem is that 2.0 titles continue to be advertised as 5.1

Examples ...

Chronicles of Narnia (CU+ Download) = 5.1 Sound
Game of Thrones (CU+ Download) = 2.0 Sound (advertised as 5.1)

Night Shift (CU+ Decoder) = 5.1 Sound
The Queen (CU+ Decoder) = 2.0 Sound (advertised as 5.1)
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-09-07 , 15:29
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Night Shift (CU+ Decoder) = 5.1 Sound
The Queen (CU+ Decoder) = 2.0 Sound (advertised as 5.1)
Don't you mean:

Night Shift (CU Decoder) = 5.1 Sound
The Queen (CU Decoder) = 2.0 Sound (advertised as 5.1)

__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-09-07 , 15:32
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krugie View Post
Don't you mean:

Night Shift (CU Decoder) = 5.1 Sound
The Queen (CU Decoder) = 2.0 Sound (advertised as 5.1)

Well spotted. I get so confused. Game of Thrones is on CU+ on my decoder, but it's CU on my laptop. So hard to remember.

;-)

Either way. Advertising needs to be fixed.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-09-10 , 09:09
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 372
Hi All

@Krugie - thank you .

@Simon - the issue is still being attended to by the teams involved. Any changes will be posted, note that this process might take a while as it requires software updates.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-09-10 , 12:59
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
@Simon - the issue is still being attended to by the teams involved. Any changes will be posted, note that this process might take a while as it requires software updates.
Not sure why it requires software updates? This is EPG tagging. Reported months ago.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-09-12 , 11:50
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Not sure why it requires software updates? This is EPG tagging. Reported months ago.
Hi Simon

The teams have been made aware, and are working on it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-09-29 , 14:46
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 450
Is the soundtrack of most movies on CU+ 5.1 or 2.0? I'm not going to waste my data downloading HD Content only to have the soundtrack be in 2.0. At the end of the day MC needs to get me to download or stream from them rather than hire a Bluray or stream from another source. That's not going to happen with sound quality that's not even up to DVD Standard. The minimum really is 5.1 not 2.0.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-09-29 , 14:48
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ermeric1 View Post
Is the soundtrack of most movies on CU+ 5.1 or 2.0? I'm not going to waste my data downloading HD Content only to have the soundtrack be in 2.0. At the end of the day MC needs to get me to download or stream from them rather than hire a Bluray or stream from another source. That's not going to happen with sound quality that's not even up to DVD Standard. The minimum really is 5.1 not 2.0.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
And it should be clearly displayed whether the title is in 5.1 or 2.0 so I can choose to download it or not. It shouldn't be the case that I only find out once I begin playback.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-10-02 , 09:57
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ermeric1 View Post
And it should be clearly displayed whether the title is in 5.1 or 2.0 so I can choose to download it or not. It shouldn't be the case that I only find out once I begin playback.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
Hi Ermeric1

Are you referring to any movie/movies in particular?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-10-02 , 14:03
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Grace View Post
Hi Ermeric1

Are you referring to any movie/movies in particular?
Jumping into this discussion I'd like to say that it shouldn't make any difference which movie or movies are being referred to by Emeric 1. I know that if I were to download a movie, any movie, I'd want the answers to the question that Emeric1 is asking.

So, this information SHOULD be available to us for ANY of the Catch Up downloads.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound delay on all HD channels (Surround Sound) Lewis HD PVR 14 2011-10-12 14:23
SS2 HD: No sound via Surround Sound (stereo is fine) benitok Picture/Audio Quality 19 2010-09-13 08:27
Different sound levels channel to channel or no sound Chickie Picture/Audio Quality 5 2010-09-08 10:56
No sound on "Surround Sound" - Supersport HD2 Ermeric1 DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2010-08-24 23:24
Poor sound quality (Ambient sound overwhelming) stormers Picture/Audio Quality 6 2009-02-27 19:55