Forum > Decoders > Installation > HDMI to second endpoint
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-08-09 , 13:53
andrewgerm andrewgerm is offline
Watches YouTube a lot!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town, Western Cape
Posts: 364
Default HDMI to second endpoint

Hi all
Best place to get feedback on this, so this is what I'm planning.
Currently 2 Explora (first edition). One in lounge connected to TV, with RF to all bedrooms. Second in office, with RF to all bedrooms.

Office is connected via HDMI to a large PC monitor, and theatre system. I've been looking at running an HDMI extension, so I can also watch with HD quality from bed.

The best I can find in researching, is an HDMI to Cat6 converter. Then the cable run, which I believe shouldn't extend past 50m, and then convert that back to HDMI on the other end.

Running from the office, so I can also swap the HDMI to the PC, in order to play Blu-Rays off there too.

I also hear that the TV link can be sent over this?

The RF signal is obviously mono sound, and in SD only. Not to mention it's not crystal clear, due to several things, including signal noise, etc. But it's not terrible (once denoise is activated).

Are there any better solutions? Can the TV link operate via HDMI?
The converters I have found from a retailer for about R800. The cable I'm still looking around for, but looks to be about the same price.

Any input, suggestions appreciated...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-08-10 , 05:41
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 57
Why not just get a third explora or hd single connect with xtraview? Probably cost the same in the long run.
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-08-10 , 09:01
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,190
Least costly & bothersome option Andrew - since RF is already in place just continue to use that for the TV Link, and simply get an amplified HDMI splitter and use one or both its outputs as needed. I've used inexpensive units for years from HD Cabling in Centurion.
(Doubt I'll be around to discuss further.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-08-10 , 17:15
andrewgerm andrewgerm is offline
Watches YouTube a lot!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town, Western Cape
Posts: 364
Thank you both for the feedback.

@idm1: I do have a 4U decoder, so that might be an option, but I like to have my recordings as well. Plus, I might also use the route to send video from the PC that sits there.

@optimist: thank you! And I think that will likely be the route. The remote signal can still go via RF (and RF can be a standby). I've found a few cheap HDMI to Cat6 converters, and will just send the signal that way.

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-08-11 , 08:46
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 57
With due respect, if you add up the cost of extending the hdmi cable, once done you would have been able to get an explora 2a connected in xtraview and perhaps even a raspberry pi zero for your movies.
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-08-11 , 11:08
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by idm1 View Post
With due respect, if you add up the cost of extending the hdmi cable, once done you would have been able to get an explora 2a connected in xtraview and perhaps even a raspberry pi zero for your movies.
You've forgotten the extra charge for the 3rd XtraView. Adds up quite rapidly.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-08-11 , 13:52
andrewgerm andrewgerm is offline
Watches YouTube a lot!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town, Western Cape
Posts: 364
@Simon: That is one of the main reasons I'm doing things the way I mentioned. I actually think the additional devices, and PVR access should all be included, but MC see it otherwise.

@idm1: I see your point, and Simon's. I have a Raspberry Pi 3 hooked up, but I have a few thousand DVDs and Blu-Rays, so sending a PC signal or HD from the Explora, would work best. Also, I'd like access to the recordings from that particular PVR.

On that note, do you know of a reasonably priced local distributor for the Zero?

Plus, there's a bit of "can I do it" here, just because.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-08-11 , 14:14
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 57
Rs Electronics, even better is pishop 100 bucks delivery anywhere in SA, zero 1.3 R80, zero wireless R182.

https://www.pishop.co.za/store/raspberry-pi-boards
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-08-11 , 14:35
andrewgerm andrewgerm is offline
Watches YouTube a lot!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town, Western Cape
Posts: 364
Awesome, and thank you very much for that!
It's going to form part of the "end setup" with everything, including DStv shared to all rooms.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-08-11 , 14:50
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 57
Sure thing, let me know if you need help with config of the pi/s.
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on connecting second TV to HD PVR (no HD) StickGuy HD PVR 3 2009-12-18 18:35
Constant random 2 second picture black screens Gerald HD PVR 6 2009-11-09 16:14
recording second channel on hdpvr bala HD PVR 6 2009-06-24 13:47
TV link in second room Rock_Star Installation 6 2009-06-01 17:33
Porto v Manchester United second leg naushad DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2009-04-16 10:48