Forum > Decoders > Installation > DStv Three XtraView Installation
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-08-03 , 13:50
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
I added a 3rd decoder into my setup for our flat and for me, the simplest was to have all 3 configured for unicable (so connected to ports A,B and C on SLNB), Heart Beat cable connecting all 3 decoders via a T-Piece (as Geoff suggested) and configuring the user-bands so that they don't interfere with one another. Working like a charm so far. For me, the trickiest part was the user band configuration.
The easiest especially if all 3 decoders are in the same room.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-08-03 , 14:00
Silk Silk is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 37
Actually, I wanted to have all the decoders in their respective rooms. Required some clambering around in the roof to lay new cables to the flat, but it wasn't so bad. My cables to the flat are around 35 meters and its working fine. Agree though...definitely would have been easier if decoders were all in same room.
__________________
Explora 2A + Explora 2A + Single HD 4U, Triple-view with dedicated HB cable, Smart LNB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-08-03 , 14:21
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
Actually, I wanted to have all the decoders in their respective rooms. Required some clambering around in the roof to lay new cables to the flat, but it wasn't so bad. My cables to the flat are around 35 meters and its working fine. Agree though...definitely would have been easier if decoders were all in same room.


I have done quite a bit of ceiling duty lately as well! Decided to clean up the existing "stuff" in the roof of my daughter's new place. Recovered enough cable to be able to do the job without having to buy anything new!

I should post some pitchas of the joints I found, and the "lost" SLX splitters and the kinked cables etc.

Nice an simple setup now. Longest cable is about 40m.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-08-03 , 14:47
Silk Silk is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 37
Forgot to mention, I also gave each decoder a unique UHF channel (located under System Settings -> UHF). I'm not sure if this was necessary, but I remember reading something about it so I did it anyway.
__________________
Explora 2A + Explora 2A + Single HD 4U, Triple-view with dedicated HB cable, Smart LNB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-08-03 , 15:14
Silk Silk is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 37
Quote:
I should post some pitchas of the joints I found, and the "lost" SLX splitters and the kinked cables etc.
I hope these were cable joints you were referring to and not something your daughter would be embarrassed about.
__________________
Explora 2A + Explora 2A + Single HD 4U, Triple-view with dedicated HB cable, Smart LNB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-08-03 , 19:31
Nutsman Tygerberg Nutsman Tygerberg is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Parow
Posts: 12
Thank you for all the advice, Now I am ready to install the hardware, cant wait to test my new skills. Yes I,ve got the new 90 cm Dish.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-08-03 , 19:37
Nutsman Tygerberg Nutsman Tygerberg is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Parow
Posts: 12
Smile

Thank you for all the advice, I cant wait to test my new skills.
Yes Geoff D, I got 90 cm dish.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-08-04 , 00:00
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,476
Good luck! Let us know how it all goes.

BTW this is not an ecceptable "T-Joint"

Attachment 7416

__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-08-09 , 17:11
Nutsman Tygerberg Nutsman Tygerberg is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Parow
Posts: 12
All cabling for installation complete,but cannot test. I still waiting for MC to change decoder from my daughter in-law's name to my name so I can connect the decoder to triple view, anyone that can help with that? It is been 3 weeks, this morning they tell me they lost paperwork.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-08-09 , 17:15
Nutsman Tygerberg Nutsman Tygerberg is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Parow
Posts: 12
OK, I can see why, he did not solder the joint, I soldered mine. LOL
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
explora1 extraview, triple view
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRESS RELEASE: Get three independent DStv viewing environments under one subscription MC Marietjie PVR Decoders 82 2017-11-23 14:40
Decoders compatible with three Xtraview wezhira Installation 2 2016-07-05 08:50
Where is Three Rivers? LesleyH DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 6 2011-02-13 11:48
Three times confused Sankie Service Queries 3 2010-03-01 15:48