Forum > Decoders > Installation > New Explora 2 + HD PVR 2p
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-07-25 , 15:33
dualbreaker1 dualbreaker1 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Default New Explora 2 + HD PVR 2p

Hi

Looking at getting an explora. Previously I had the HDPVR 2p + DSD1130 in an xtra view setup. What I would like to know is there any other hardware required if I were to buy the explora? new lnbs or switches etc?

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-07-25 , 16:48
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 422
I have exactly that combination currently. You will need to upgrade to a SLNB (smart LNB).
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-07-27 , 10:09
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by dualbreaker1 View Post
Hi

Looking at getting an explora. Previously I had the HDPVR 2p + DSD1130 in an xtra view setup. What I would like to know is there any other hardware required if I were to buy the explora? new lnbs or switches etc?

TIA
It depends on what is in place at the moment but the long term solution is a new SLNB, maybe a larger antenna ( if the old one is a 60 cm).

IF you have a TWINB LNB and a 5-2 switch, you may be able to get the new decoder working.

If you have a TWIN LNB and a 5-1 Explora switch, it may work but probably not reliably.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-07-27 , 11:49
dualbreaker1 dualbreaker1 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
How can I tell if its a smart lnb that I have?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-07-27 , 11:59
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 57
Look at the end of the satellite dish where the cables are connected.

https://www.hdcabling.co.za/images/D...ultichoice.jpg

http://images.bidorbuy.co.za/user_im..._smart_lnb.jpg
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-07-27 , 15:48
dualbreaker1 dualbreaker1 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Ok so I've got the old twin lnb and while get a new one. How hard will this be to do myself? Reason I ask is, being quoted 3hrs labour to what I think is a relatively easy setup?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-07-27 , 16:13
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 57
Since the explorer 2a requires extremely accurate antenna alignment, it will depend on the size (min recommended size is 80cm) and accuracy of the alignment of the antenna. There is no harm in attempting lnb replacement take note of the angle of the one that you are replacing try and get the same angle with the slnb. Check user band settings mentioned in recent threads on the same subject.
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-07-27 , 17:27
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by dualbreaker1 View Post
Ok so I've got the old twin lnb and while get a new one. How hard will this be to do myself? Reason I ask is, being quoted 3hrs labour to what I think is a relatively easy setup?

Well for that 3 hours I would expect the installer to do a complete re-alignment of the antenna, elevation, followed by azimuth and skew angle adjustment.

ASSUMING that the basic elevation and azimuth is correct on the existing antenna, you could try the SLNB replacement yourself.

Mark the exact position of the existing LNB, its depth in the support bracket as well as he offset angle using the seam on the existing LNB or a scale if that is available.

Then install the new SLNB in the exact same position. Performance should at least be as good as you have at the moment.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-08-15 , 11:58
dualbreaker1 dualbreaker1 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Did the self install and have my xplora up and running. Unfortunately I think I'm gonna have to get an installer out. Before the upgrade there were a few channels not playing, even though my signal was 90% / 80%(possibly the issue right there).
I was hoping that the swap out on the lnb would fix it but it didn't so its def an alignment issue as those same channels are still not playing. Atleast I have saved a couple of hours on install time, like the time it took to upgrade the decoder itself :P
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-08-15 , 12:09
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,190
Yep, 90% Strength is ok but 80% Quality is far too low - needs to be on 90%+ and on both polarities.
(We recommend using viewing channels 262 & 405 to test on tuner 1.)

Glad you've made the decision to get an installer, no-one here is willing to get involved with direct helping with alignment due to the sensitivities involved, except Geoff and unfortunately he's away now for some time.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XtraView: Explora 1 + Explora 2A + HD PVR 2P- Possible? Die Meester Installation 5 2017-05-29 12:47
Issues with series recording on new Explora/HD PVR XtraView set up Ngiri PVR Decoders 7 2014-11-27 21:21
Upgrading from old PVR to new HD PVR Dane213 Installation 4 2010-08-02 10:20
How to control SD-PVR with new HD-PVR remote? gregb HD PVR 3 2010-05-31 15:18
Will Pace HD-PVR installation compatible with New HD-PVR launch date unkown. J Gundlach HD PVR 2 2009-02-19 22:51