Forum > Decoders > Installation > 1x Explora1 1x Explora2 1x HD Decoder
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-07-23 , 22:49
PEsquino PEsquino is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default 1x Explora1 1x Explora2 1x HD Decoder

Hi All

I am looking to replace my SD PVR with an Explora 2A and and HD Decoder and make use of Extraview 3.
My current installation makes use of a twin LNB and a 5-2 switch.

I have 2 questions:
1. Is it possible to replace the SD PVR with an Explora 2A and HD Decoder with the current LNB and 5-2 switch.
2. If I replaced the switch and twin LNB with a SNLB (LMX501) would it simplify the new installation.

Thanks Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-07-24 , 07:02
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 62
Hi, welcome to the forum.
You get R500 trade in on the sd pvr.
1. Perhaps, not advisable.
2. Yes.
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-07-24 , 07:05
PEsquino PEsquino is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Hi idm1

Thanks for the reply.
In terms of option 2. Would I connect the HD Decoder to an omni or universal port on the SLNB?

Regards, Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-07-24 , 07:46
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 62
Assuming that you are referring to a hd single view, you have a choice of either a unicable or legacy port since the lmx 501 has one legacy port.

You mentioned xtra view x 3, but only 2 decoders, what will you use as a 3rd?
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-07-24 , 08:07
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,441
Just to add to @Idm1's comments;

1. We don't use the term "omni" on the forum which could cause some confusion for others, we call it a Unicable port, as labelled.
2. The problem with keeping your current LNB & MS (MultiSwitch) is that it won't then be future proof for new Hi Band services from MC in the next few months / years. A SLNB (Smart LNB) is expected to cover that need as well.
3. You will not need the MS again with the SLNB.
4. MC will only trade in an ACTIVE SD PVR, so don't turn off its subscription before taking it in.
5. In case you don't know, XV (XtraView) x 3 can only comprise of Explora(s) and 4136 HD Decoder(s) (4U), with at least one Explora in the mix.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-07-24 , 08:53
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by idm1 View Post
You mentioned xtra view x 3, but only 2 decoders, what will you use as a 3rd?
I just noticed - he did mention it in the thread's title


When the other Explora is connected, change the User Band Indexes & Frequencies on one of them to prevent any clashes. See Smart LNB (SLNB) installations and settings
Also, if the 4136 HD Decoder (4U) uses Unicable it will also have to be changed.

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-07-24 at 08:58. .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-07-24 , 09:01
idm1 idm1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: East Rand
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
I just noticed - he did mention it in the thread's title
Yeah, I noticed that afterwards.
__________________
1.2 meter dish, SLNB LMX 501, Explora 2a, Pace HD PVR 2P, Xtraview via rf ( for now ), Samsung PS51E6500, Samsung UA55K6000, Rotel RSP 1570 Pre/Pro, Myryad MXA 5150 power amp, Oppo bdp-83 bluray, Raspberry Pi (also used as a pattern generator), B&W 683 S1 front, B&W HTM61 S1 center, Castle Conway 3 surround, B&W ASW 610 Subwoofer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-07-24 , 10:16
PEsquino PEsquino is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the feedback guys. Apologies for my incorrect use of the terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-07-24 , 12:43
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,464
If you do decide to keep the 5-2 switch and the TWIN LNB, note that the 5-2 switch has a limited number of user bands available.

You could connect the HD decoder and the SD PVR to the 4 universal ports on the 5-2 switch (2 for the SD PVR, and 1 for the HD decoder).
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-07-24 at 14:21. .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-07-24 , 12:52
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,441
Just to clarify, what you can't do is have the three modern decoders you planned for all working on the 5-2 MS as you can't share tuner 3 with the two different Explora models and so there wouldn't be enough user bands for that (there are five). It could be made to work if both Exploras are of the same model.

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-07-24 at 14:23. . Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora2 downloads immed ignoring download time setting dragonleo PVR Decoders 8 2017-08-27 19:45
Can we disable Explora1 auto replace/record? RyanDavid PVR Decoders 4 2017-07-30 14:30
Explora2 + HD PVR 4Tuner Pace + HD PVR 2U, Smart LNB, 2x6 MS, ExtraView Installation glenn_t Installation 3 2017-04-07 07:27
Noisy Explora2 Gbic PVR Decoders 17 2016-10-28 17:35
Decoder Care Contract while decoder is under warranty JG Service Queries 3 2009-08-17 13:02