Forum > Decoders > Installation > Help with Installation of 3x Explora2a XV Setup
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81  
Old 2017-06-06 , 19:45
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
Tried the remote commands on all 3 exploras with remotes in appropriate modes
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 2017-06-06 , 19:46
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aadil View Post
...so I'm waiting for MC to resolve the E16 & E30 errors in these 2 exploras. The MC agent says this didn't affect the signal strength. Does this affect it?
No, it can't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aadil View Post
On the flipside, MC said the errors would be cleared within 2 to 4 hours but it's still not. Could the lower signal strength affect that?
Possible. You're on the edge and difficult to determine exactly how badly.

I'll leave the rest to Geoff for now, else we may clash a bit and confuse.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 2017-06-06 , 19:47
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aadil View Post
Tried the remote commands on all 3 exploras with remotes in appropriate modes
Ok, then it's cabling / connections / other equipment related.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 2017-06-06 , 19:57
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Ok, then it's cabling / connections / other equipment related.
To be clear, I was testing sending the remote commands via lnb. I haven't connected any RF cables yet. Also, there are no external diplexers installed. Only 1 lnb cable from the slnb to each Explora
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 2017-06-06 , 19:57
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,493
One other thing - are the diplexers attached yet? If not, Geoff's relaying experiment without them would seem to be a no go and that must then be done, may be all that is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 2017-06-06 , 19:58
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,493
We thought the same thing at the same time...
Yep, diplexers needed first.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 2017-06-06 , 20:10
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,493
Sorry, I'm forgetting that the later plan was to go the RF cabling route for all needs, so then no diplexers... unless you want to do that in the meantime but I think it would whack your budget.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 2017-06-19 , 16:31
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
I haven't had a chance to do the wiring for the RF Distribution but I've purchased the slx splitter & wiring. Planning on doing it next weekend (1 July)
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 2017-08-21 , 20:07
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
I haven't forgotten to update you guys on my progress. I haven't done part 2 yet - the RF Distribution. Busy finishing up renovations first
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 2017-08-21 , 21:53
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,493
No worries, we've also ended up busy / not around much...
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with this setup please Toilet Duck HD PVR 3 2011-11-28 09:33
Help with my setup and CWC quality McSpafter HD PVR 19 2011-03-10 12:22
Help PLS :-)HD PVR Setup Simkon_99 Installation 5 2010-05-24 13:04
Setup 2nd TV Remote - PLEASE HELP!!!! Gatekeeper Remote Controls 5 2008-12-04 11:41