Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > HD PVR 2P Decoder reboots very often
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #291  
Old 2017-08-31 , 19:00
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
(55? True or false? If true then in future I'll appreciate some respect from someone as young as you. Thank you)
True. Yes sir, and thank you for calling me young sir
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 2017-09-07 , 08:45
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 511
@MC Marietjie. subject to your question in post 285. We have been using the Decoder extensively over the last few days and can report like Beetle Baily although the reboots have reduced it now reboots at least once within every two days at odd times. The last reboot was yesterday at 19:59 and at that time the decoder was idle for a few hours but it did effect the recording that was scheduleg to start at 20:00.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 2017-09-07 , 08:57
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,231
Thank you Jan for your report - we will pass this on to the relevant teams
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 2017-09-10 , 12:02
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,958
I've not used the apps recently but a new problem seems to have reared it's ugly head. On a couple of occasions over the past ....... two weeks?, my screen has gone black requiring a reboot. Do the reboot and all is well once again. For awhile. Cannot recall what I was doing at the time but think once was while coming out of looking at the tv guide. MAY have happened under similar circumstances on the other occasions as well but I'm not sure.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 2017-09-10 , 12:20
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 511
It happened to me once. When switched out of standby the screen was black with no response to the remote accept that holding down the power button did cause the expected soft reboot.
As mentioned before we are not using the 2P extensively.
What I did find is that using only the news app has reduced the frequency of the reboots but if you use all three the apps in succession it still some times trigger the reboot.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 2017-10-27 , 10:15
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 511
I have started using the News App on the decoder again and it occasionally causes a complete freezing of the decoder.
It get stuck on the screen with a spinning wheel at the bottom with a "loading" message. The only way to get out and get the decoder going again is a reboot.
All that really changed is that previously the decoder reboot it self now you have to do it.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 2017-10-27 , 10:16
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
I have started using the News App on the decoder again and it occasionally causes a complete freezing of the decoder.
It get stuck on the screen with a spinning wheel at the bottom with a "loading" message. The only way to get out and get the decoder going again is a reboot.
All that really changed is that previously the decoder reboot it self now you have to do it.
No problem with the Weather app?
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 2017-10-27 , 10:29
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 511
I have not touched the weather app yet.

I know that the roll out of the split of the apps was delayed because the news app did cause the decoder to freeze during testing as reported by Marietjie at the time.

What I am experiencing now maybe that the problem may not have been fully resolved before the roll out.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 2017-10-27 , 12:18
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,958
Thanks for the feedback Jan. I have on one occasion in the past looked at the news items on the decoder but that has been it. Still not confident that there won't be the usual reboots.

I am still experiencing reboots, even without using the interactive apps, but these are perhaps one every 3-4 days, or perhaps even longer.

At first I was missing catching up on the news and sports news using the apps but now I've become used to not using them anymore.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 2017-10-27 , 13:27
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 511
Yes I do experience the occasional reboot as wel. Unfortunately since the decoder was demoted to the XV slot some may have gone by unnoticed. But at least one that I know of coincided to the minute with a reboot Geoff experienced on his decoders in that spate of unwanted reboots reported on elsewhere.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Entertainment Channel - Picture very very bad LesleyH Picture/Audio Quality 14 2012-11-29 15:39
Pace HD PVR runs very hot then reboots Macman HD PVR 4 2012-01-07 20:10
have to reboot often Gerard0601 HD PVR 3 2010-05-24 17:56
SDPVR reboots very long Theo SD PVR 10 2009-09-30 18:07