Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Catch Up > Missing on Explora Catch Up
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2016-04-18 , 10:30
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
@EmJay - I think the person helping you may have been making presumptions and generalising.
  • For Criminal Minds S11 on my Explora I've got E10, E11 and E13 on CU+ , with last week's E12 on CU.
  • Based on the expiry dates I'm seeing, E10 and E11 have moved to CU+ now which is normal for some series, that way they're still available after normal expiry.
  • E12 being on CU says to me that this is the normal state of affairs for the series, and that they've accidentally put E13 on CU+ too early instead, something else we see happen on occasions.
  • Why you haven't seen any of it arrive is another matter, we do rarely see a difference between Exploras but perhaps you should post your signal strength and signal quality for tuner 3 - Help \ General Information \ Tuner Status.
I've yet to see any series moved mid-season from CU to CU+ as far as first deliveries go.
Signal strengths and quality:-

Tuner 1 - 100% and 100%
Tuner3 - 75% and 100%

Shouldn't be a problem - everything else finds its way onto CU.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2016-04-18 , 10:35
conrad95's Avatar
conrad95 conrad95 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 310
Any news on Fear The Walking Dead

Sent from my SM-J200H using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2016-04-18 , 10:36
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmJay View Post
Signal strengths and quality:-

Tuner 1 - 100% and 100%
Tuner3 - 75% and 100%

Shouldn't be a problem - everything else finds its way onto CU.
Agreed. (Just check for yourself if when tuned to channel 262 that the tuner 1 values remain high.)

MC will now no doubt be investigating why some boxes didn't get that episode, hopefully it will arrive soon.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2016-04-18 , 11:26
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Agreed. (Just check for yourself if when tuned to channel 262 that the tuner 1 values remain high.)

MC will now no doubt be investigating why some boxes didn't get that episode, hopefully it will arrive soon.
Interesting. Why channel 262? Not on My Favourites :-)

Strength & Quality remain virtually identical (within 1% of strength).

My feeling is that MC have largely sorted out most of the technical problems that they were having with CU earlier in the year, and that now the problems are mainly ones of Quality Control and Management. Some people are not doing their jobs properly. Just my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2016-04-18 , 11:33
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmJay View Post
Interesting. Why channel 262? Not on My Favourites :-)
Just making sure that Vertically polarised signals were checked as well (not related to CU itself on Exploras).
As for the choice of channel, see Which channels to use for testing
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2016-04-18 , 12:51
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,078
Just to let you know - I have escalated Criminal Minds and Fear the Walking Dead - am waiting for proper feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2016-04-18 , 13:56
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,078
An update on Fear the Walking Dead - Ep 1 will be available on your decoders tonight. Ep 2 will also air tonight and will hopefully be available a lot sooner.

As Explora is stacking up to 4 episodes, ep 1 will stay on your decoder with Ep 2, and then build all the way to ep 4 before ep 1 expires (hope this makes sense - 4 get stacked, once ep 5 airs, ep 1 will fall off and be replaced by ep 5 so you have 4 episodes from 2-5, then 3-6, and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2016-04-19 , 09:39
lindamary lindamary is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Friendly/Windy City
Posts: 251
We are missing The Good Wife, Ep 3 of Happy Valley (Ep 4 is there), and Last Tango in Halifax Ep 4
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2016-04-19 , 11:06
EmJay EmJay is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by lindamary View Post
We are missing The Good Wife, Ep 3 of Happy Valley (Ep 4 is there), and Last Tango in Halifax Ep 4
Personally, I'm not worried about The Good Wife, but I am concerned about the other two. The problems with these, together with some others, are leading me to the conclusion that we're headed for another melt-down with CU. If so, then surely it's time for some heads to roll.

Reading on the 'Net about Happy Valley, it looks like episode 3 is the pivotal one of the 6 episode series. The last broadcast of episode 3 was at 23.30 last night and if the episode doesn't reach CU soon, with episodes 5 and 6 being broadcast tonight, it making little sense to even manually record them. Another series likely to be ruined through incompetence.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2016-04-19 , 11:25
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,182
MC have been making it clear over the last few weeks that CU has become very important to them, I'm sure "heads will roll" if need be, but too often it really is caused by external factors that MC and other platforms are constantly battling over with the studios etc.
It's been explained well in the past, studio bosses drag their heels over modern changes such as CU.

As much as it has improved it really is essential to still record backups. I've never stopped... a pain, but results in reliable, quality results. It's a complex service.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catch-Up & Box Office Items - Missing! Kylie DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 7 2013-11-19 20:31
Catch-Up & Box Office Items - Missing! Kylie Explora HD PVR 5 2013-11-19 16:14
Betrayal is missing on Catch Up Elizabeth DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2013-11-04 08:46
Missing titles on Catch Up Flojo497 DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 8 2013-08-27 19:10
Why are DStv Catch Up shows missing from my PVR? MC Nic DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2012-02-14 09:30