Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > The DStv WiFi Connector
Closed Thread  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-11-12 , 18:33
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,220
Default The DStv WiFi Connector

When we launched our the DStv Explora last year, we promised our customers we’d connect it to the internet before the end of 2014, and now we’re delivering on that that promise!

We’re pleased to announce that your DStv Explora can now be connected to the internet.

By linking the DStv Explora to the internet, customers will get access to Connected Services* – namely DStv Catch Up Plus and Remote Recordings.

To go with this, we now have a DStv WiFi Connector.



The DStv WiFi Connector allows customers to link their DStv Explora to the router in their home. It does so easily and wirelessly.

How much is the DStv WiFi Connector?
The recommended retail price is R399.

Where can I buy a DStv WiFi Connector?
You can buy a DStv WiFi Connector from any of the DStv service centres, MultiChoice agencies or at major retailers (from next week).

What does the DStv WiFi Connector come with?
The DStv WiFi Connector comes with cabling and a basic user guide.

What is the warranty on the DStv WiFi Connector?
The DStv WiFi Connector comes with a 12-month warranty from the date of purchase.

How do customers connect their DStv Explora to the internet using the DStv WiFi Connector?
You can find helpful "how to" videos here and also download step-by-step instructions that you can print to help you set it up.


*Data charges apply when using Connected Services on the DStv Explora and we recommend an uncapped ADSL account, with a minimum 2Mbps download speed. Downloading video consumes large amounts of data so please be aware of data package limits and costs. DStv will not be held responsible for data usage. R75 access fee payable. DStv Catch Up Plus exclusive to DStv Premium customers. Terms and Conditions apply. Visit dstv.com/GetConnected for more information.

Last edited by MC Brenda; 2014-11-13 at 18:12. .
  #2  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:18
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
What about connecting without a WiFi connector?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #3  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:20
ivanj's Avatar
ivanj ivanj is offline
Has to hide the DStv remote from the little one.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The east.. of JHB
Posts: 2,945
Hi Simon

You can connect the explora directly to your current home network as well via Ethernet
__________________
Pace HdPVR 2p(Offline) ,PaceHDPVR 4P,UEC 2U, And ExploraQuad feed LNB , 2x8 MS , NO Extra View , Samsung Series 6 LED (eh6030) , Connected via HDMI
  #4  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:22
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanj
You can connect the explora directly to your current home network as well via Ethernet
Thanks, just found that.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #5  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:27
Raptorx Raptorx is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: sasolburg
Posts: 37
Will you be able to schedule the downloads to only download between 12am and 7am? For the telkom softcap People.
  #6  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:32
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,220
There is no way to "pick" the time they download unless you switch your internet connection off outside of those periods.
  #7  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:35
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptorx View Post
Will you be able to schedule the downloads to only download between 12am and 7am? For the telkom softcap People.
Couldn't you just start your downloads at midnight? I know it's the low tech solution you didn't want to hear.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
  #8  
Old 2014-11-12 , 19:53
Raptorx Raptorx is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: sasolburg
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Couldn't you just start your downloads at midnight? I know it's the low tech solution you didn't want to hear.
Yes you can. Will need to try the Parental controls on my router. But it's 2014 every other download device in my home can be scheduled . But we finally have internet access on the device so glad for that at least.
  #9  
Old 2014-11-12 , 22:27
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptorx View Post
Yes you can. Will need to try the Parental controls on my router. But it's 2014 every other download device in my home can be scheduled . But we finally have internet access on the device so glad for that at least.

We were told tonight that a 'download manager' is in the works for a later release
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #10  
Old 2014-11-12 , 23:08
Hubert's Avatar
Hubert Hubert is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 238
Few questions:

- will we need a software update before the functionality is enabled?
- it's clear that the dongle will only be available next week, but for peeps who have Ethernet close to their decoders, is the functionality working already, or will it only be enabled once the dongles are available?
- the link in the first post to "catchup plus" is incorrect
__________________
Don't you wish there was a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness", but it doesn't work.
Closed Thread  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drifta Wifi Android app compatability jalize DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2014-01-04 13:01
HDPVR signal distribution tips – mini-HDMI connector and RCA to RF Modulator JG Installation 4 2012-07-14 10:30
WiFi Drifter on HoneyComb 3.2 Zwakele DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2012-07-13 16:22
Wifi Drifta Ownership Transfer WizardOfTheHood DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 1 2012-05-25 08:59
DSD990 F-connector rusted up?! Jack Installation 6 2009-01-07 15:01