Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #211  
Old 2017-10-11 , 08:47
LeonR LeonR is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mojeneo View Post
I have a 10mbps ADSL line at home. The Explora2 download speed has never been more than 2.96mbsp. When I watch Showmax via the Explora2 I have buffering issues. If I watch Showmax via my Smart TV Showmax App, then there is no buffering issues. Catch plus also has the same buffering issues.
I also have these slow download issues on an Explora with 50 mbps fibre line (admittedly slower at PVR due to extender, but more than 20). Cannot watch anything on HD and downloads take forever. Have sent a PM but no reply to date. Anyone have advice for me?
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 2017-10-11 , 13:45
magszinovich magszinovich is online now
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
I am too experiencing slow download speeds. Cannot watch HD content with either CU+, or via running showmax through the explora decoder.

I am running a 100mbps fibre line.

Has anyone sorted out their issues?
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 2017-10-11 , 13:51
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,533
I'm afraid that until MC provides a speedtest app (customized to pull a test file from the server(s) they host CU+ content on) on the Explora's menu, so that everyone can report this problem in the same way, this will never get sorted out.
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 2017-10-11 , 13:58
LeonR LeonR is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 59
Very frustrating! And the more content is moved to CU+, the more SD have to endue

Anyone perhaps had better results with the new USB design wifi connector?
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 2017-10-11 , 14:27
Patrick No 1's Avatar
Patrick No 1 Patrick No 1 is offline
Changes remote batteries moderately.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On the Intertubes.
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
I'm afraid that until MC provides a speedtest app (customized to pull a test file from the server(s) they host CU+ content on) on the Explora's menu, so that everyone can report this problem in the same way, this will never get sorted out.
Have you captured the traffic from the speed test that is part of the Explora connectivity checker to see against which server the test is conducted?
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 2017-10-11 , 14:39
LeonR LeonR is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick No 1 View Post
Have you captured the traffic from the speed test that is part of the Explora connectivity checker to see against which server the test is conducted?
How does one do this? I don't have the Expl2
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 2017-10-11 , 15:30
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick No 1 View Post
Have you captured the traffic from the speed test that is part of the Explora connectivity checker to see against which server the test is conducted?
Not technically certified for that
The caching server is explora.dstvcdn.com , and will resolve to different IPs depending from which ISP you come, iirc
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 2017-10-11 , 16:42
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,941
I know this has nothing to do with cu. I normally watch 2episodes of younger on showmax Friday nights.

The first episode I choose HD after the 30sec has run down. I normally have between 2 and 3 minutes loaded. However I can't watch HD on the 2nd episode after that 30 sec has run down I have maybe 30 sec saved on buffer. I don't have that issue with CU or Netflix
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 2017-10-12 , 09:10
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by magszinovich View Post
I am too experiencing slow download speeds. Cannot watch HD content with either CU+, or via running showmax through the explora decoder.

I am running a 100mbps fibre line.

Has anyone sorted out their issues?
Hi magszinovich

Let's see what our tech team can do for you. PM me your email address and contact details I'll forward to the team.
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 2017-10-12 , 10:48
caneman caneman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
I'm afraid that until MC provides a speedtest app (customized to pull a test file from the server(s) they host CU+ content on) on the Explora's menu, so that everyone can report this problem in the same way, this will never get sorted out.
Re:-Download Server error
The techs supplied me with a test file connected to their servers for download tests. I used my computer to test the download and it gives the same download error at the same point as Download server error as indicated on the Explora.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Download DSTV01.JPG (34.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg Download DSTV.JPG (45.2 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg ServerProblemNightShift (002).jpg (644.9 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
catchup plus, download speed, sonymax
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CatchUp+ Download Speeds Krugie DStv Catch Up 11 2017-02-21 16:24
Desktop download is seriously slow Toilet Duck DStv Catch Up 4 2015-03-09 10:58
Two Speeds indicated for Downloading Digital Fan DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 5 2012-08-01 15:26
'Video on demand' download to HD PVR Bryopsis HD PVR 3 2009-09-21 16:49
1110 - Remote stops working after auto download davey Standard decoder 4 2008-12-16 17:31