Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > "This is a PVR" notification
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2017-08-26 , 15:52
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
The new software update did not solve the problem. Since the update I have experienced the problem a few times. The latest was today at 15:30 while recording the F1 qualifying session.
When this happens during a recording the recording is flagged as incomplete and the decoder will attempt to record the session again at a later stage and where the highlight of that event is named the same as the original it will override your recording with the highlight package. This is most annoying
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2017-08-30 , 14:06
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 89
Hi All

Please note that we are currently testing a fix for this issue and hope to deploy sometime in September...

Thanks for your patience.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2017-09-07 , 10:37
Silk Silk is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 37
FYI, got the "This is a PVR" notification once during the day yesterday and again last night around about 20h30.
__________________
Explora 2A + Explora 2A + Single HD 4U, Triple-view with dedicated HB cable, Smart LNB
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2017-09-11 , 21:19
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Sandipa View Post
Hi All

Please note that we are currently testing a fix for this issue and hope to deploy sometime in September...

Thanks for your patience.
Three times this evening during the recording of Madam Secretary. This is really spoiling my viewing of one of the few programs that I really like.

This is extremely annoying. I will now have to wait for CU,

This problem has been with us for months and some of the software updates supposedly included a fix. Please MC do something about it.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2017-09-18 , 21:06
caneman caneman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Sandipa View Post
Hi All

Please note that we are currently testing a fix for this issue and hope to deploy sometime in September...

Thanks for your patience.
When in September? I had another "This is a PVR" notification at 20:05 last night.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2017-09-19 , 10:03
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
There are a few other threads that were started prior to this one regarding this problem.

In this thread post #3 show a quote from one of these threads where it was promised that the problem would be resolved by end of March this year.

In this thread Post #5 Promised a solution by end May

Post #17 the software fix is being rolled out

Post #22 the fix is being tested and will be rolled out during September.

All this just adds to the list of problems that seemingly MC are unable to resolve.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2017-09-22 , 14:41
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 419
No response from MC. Just a reminder of the responses we have had from MC so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
We're hoping for the software update to go next week - will only be able to let you know on Tuesday.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Pls note that the software update will only go early May - to be confirmed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mpho View Post
Hi there,
The new software release (Load Version L73) is still being rolled out.
This software has a fix for V7 smartcards.
Please monitor and feedback.
Thanks,
Mpho
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Sandipa View Post
Hi All
Please note that we are currently testing a fix for this issue and hope to deploy sometime in September...

Thanks for your patience.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2017-09-25 , 09:07
caneman caneman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Again last night at 20:40 will watching Showmax!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2017-09-26 , 15:29
MC Sandipa's Avatar
MC Sandipa MC Sandipa is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 89
Hi All

A software fix for this was rolled out as communicated but a broadcast configuration still needs to be completed. This is in testing now. As soon as we have a confirmed date, i will let you all know.

Ta
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2017-10-11 , 15:26
RyanDavid RyanDavid is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 154
Was just watching something I'd recorded earlier (Explora1) when I got one of the annoying blackscreen freezes, then "checking decoder status" messages (seriously, these are ridiculously frequent these days, I assume related to your recent changes/upgrades in this regard, but it's a poor show that they have to interrupt our viewing in this way).

When this authorisation check had finished I had been kicked out of the recording I was watching. When I try to resume now I get the dreaded "This is a PVR, if you upgrade your decoder" message and so can't continue watching. I guess I'll try again later, maybe after rebooting the decoder.

Trying to remain reasonably polite here but I'm seriously annoyed with all this, it's a joke that these errors are still going on after so long. Will they actually be resolved before the Explora 1s are retired from service?
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increase without notification? Filly Service Queries 6 2010-05-05 14:45