Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #231  
Old 2017-10-20 , 23:18
magszinovich magszinovich is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
Try changing your DNS settings to the following:

Primary: 8.8.8.8
Optional/backup: 8.8.4.4




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 2017-10-21 , 10:17
cmuller cmuller is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 21
The built-in speedtester of the Explora is giving me speeds of 35Mbps+ with every single test.
There should be no need for me to start changing router settings or rebooting routers. It may be easy for some of us to do those things, but most people don't know how and just want to watch what we pay for and what DSTV advertises all over the place as a reason to buy the Explora (the connected part of it).
Parents (50Mbps fibre) and in-laws (100Mbps fibre) have both given up trying to use the feature live or if they do they only to SD content. SD content when they have fast fibre is really not how it should be working.
As suggested in a previous post, they rather download what they want to watch and watch the next night. According to me that defeats the purpose of Watch Now if DSTV's servers cannot handle it.
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 2017-10-22 , 19:39
cmuller cmuller is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 21
Exactly the same issue tonight. Downloading a title, 0.2GB in 10 minutes while Explora’s own speedtest is giving me speeds of 25, 26, 31, ... Mbps. Surely at that speeds I should be getting a lot more than 200MB in 10 minutes. Router reboot changed nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 2017-10-23 , 07:38
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
Btw, I went looking for the Explora speedtest after saw it being mentioned here. Found it in Connectivity Checker , pretty sure it wasn't there before. Would love to know where/what is being tested against and whether that can be compared to the test.bin tests against explora.dstvcdn.com ?
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 2017-10-23 , 09:14
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
pretty sure it wasn't there before
It is fairly new - maybe 2 or so releases back - but there has been reports that it is not very accurate. I have sometimes seen very different results when running the test twice immediately in a row.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 2017-10-23 , 11:50
magszinovich magszinovich is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmuller View Post
The built-in speedtester of the Explora is giving me speeds of 35Mbps+ with every single test.
There should be no need for me to start changing router settings or rebooting routers. It may be easy for some of us to do those things, but most people don't know how and just want to watch what we pay for and what DSTV advertises all over the place as a reason to buy the Explora (the connected part of it).
Parents (50Mbps fibre) and in-laws (100Mbps fibre) have both given up trying to use the feature live or if they do they only to SD content. SD content when they have fast fibre is really not how it should be working.
As suggested in a previous post, they rather download what they want to watch and watch the next night. According to me that defeats the purpose of Watch Now if DSTV's servers cannot handle it.
Are you connected via wi-fi or ethernet?

My showmax connection works fine (linked through explora 2) but streaming speeds are K*K on catch up plus... Maybe it's bandwidth constraints on MC's side....

As mentioned I am also running a 100mbps line so speed is not the issue. The issue is clearly with MC. I am also assuming that DL speeds are also much slower during peak viewing times.
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 2017-10-24 , 08:57
caneman caneman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167
For the last three nights I have had problems with Showmax having slow streaming and "Cannot Connect". It was so slow last night even pausing for 30sec. was not enough for the buffer to catch up. The DSTV Connectivity connector shows a speed of 9.85 Mbps.
CU+ is still the same with slow download speed and "Download Server Error" coming up at least 3 times in a 45Min show download.
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 2017-10-24 , 09:05
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,874
I casted Mr Robot last night from ipad to tv. That wasn't too bad it buffered a few times for a few seconds after the 30 minute mark
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 2017-10-24 , 11:50
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by magszinovich View Post
Try changing your DNS settings to the following:

Primary: 8.8.8.8
Optional/backup: 8.8.4.4




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi magszinovich

We suggest you don't change the DNS settings as this would cause you to not route optimally (Via your ISP) and also makes it hard for our tech team to troubleshoot and pinpoint the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 2017-10-24 , 11:58
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
We tend to use those DNS settings as they will always work, as opposed to those of some of our ISPs from time to time
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
catchup plus, download speed, sonymax
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CatchUp+ Download Speeds Krugie DStv Catch Up 11 2017-02-21 16:24
Desktop download is seriously slow Toilet Duck DStv Catch Up 4 2015-03-09 10:58
Two Speeds indicated for Downloading Digital Fan DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 5 2012-08-01 15:26
'Video on demand' download to HD PVR Bryopsis HD PVR 3 2009-09-21 16:49
1110 - Remote stops working after auto download davey Standard decoder 4 2008-12-16 17:31