Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 2017-05-05 , 10:20
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,519
Just an update. Been testing with someone on the CU team during this week. Bad results with the current IP (169.1.1.x), sitting on the Afrihost network, very good (consistent) results to the alternate cache IP.
AH traffic is now routed (from the CU side) to the caching servers, 30s download is back to arround 3 min of viewing time, as opposed to between 5 and 20s. This was after 19:00

So if the AH people on here can have a look? I'll also be streaming more in order to verify performance .

Thanks to MC Grace for passing on my info Terence seems like a real good guy...
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2017-05-05 at 11:50. . Reason: Caching correction
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 2017-05-05 , 10:38
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
Just an update. Been testing with someone on the CU team during this week. Bad results with the current IP (169.1.1.x), sitting on the Afrihost network, very good (consistent) results to the alternate cache IP.
AH traffic is now routed (from the CU side) to the cache IP, 30s download is back to arround 3 min of viewing time, as opposed to between 5 and 20s. This was after 19:00

So if the AH people on here can have a look? I'll also be streaming more in order to verify performance .

Thanks to MC Grace for passing on my info Terence seems like a real good guy...
Hi Luke7777

Great to hear
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 2017-05-15 , 23:40
steel_dog steel_dog is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 75
Hiya all,

As Luke7777 indicated, Terence and Isaac are awesome - yeah sorry about mentioning names but they were great driving till resolution and deserve kudo's.

Issues impacting Cape Town users should be resolved. The team's added caching servers in Cape Town. Host explora.dstvcdn.com should be resolving to 160.119.80.10 or 160.119.80.11.

Works like a bomb!! Explora is downloading 2mins of content in 30s of buffer. Oh you guys might have noticed the nifty new variable buffer feature in the latest explora software update. With the new superfast downloads (20mbps line) it takes between 10s and 15s to commence the show. Nice!!!

Rgds,
SD
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 2017-05-16 , 08:47
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,519
Just a note , all AH traffic is going to those cashing servers, not just the Cape Town users
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 2017-05-16 , 12:19
caneman caneman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by caneman View Post
I have also seen an improvement in downloading and streaming.
The proof that it is really better is going to be over the weekend on Friday,Saturday and Sunday nights after 19:00
Well, after some weeks without any download and streaming problems I could not stream or download Gomorrah last night. So I am going to PM MC Pamela and ask for help.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:04
steel_dog steel_dog is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
Just a note , all AH traffic is going to those cashing servers, not just the Cape Town users
Nice! Didn't know it was rolled out yet.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:12
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,399
For those of us on Telkom the trace route to explora.dstv.com resolves to "telkompullvod.dstvcdn.com" at 105.187.250.146
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 2017-05-16 , 19:13
Toilet Duck's Avatar
Toilet Duck Toilet Duck is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
For those of us on Telkom the trace route to explora.dstv.com resolves to "telkompullvod.dstvcdn.com" at 105.187.250.146
Mine's hitting 107.80.203.245, which appears to be MWeb JHB.

Using Vodacom Fiber in Cape Town.
__________________
Explora + HDPVR 2P
Samsung UA40EH5300. LG BH6220S via optical.
Happy life, with the machines. Scattered around the room,
Look what they made, they made it for me, happy technology.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 2017-05-17 , 10:37
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,370
Not checking the routing; but Showmax in HD is flying.
Have been binge watching "Vikings" and "Banshee" for over a month without a single buffering issue. This service is substantially improved

ISP=MWEB 20Mbps uncapped. Line= Telkonm 20Mbps VDSL 132GB Data Used over 30-Days

Cheers, K
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DATA USED.jpg (92.9 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 2017-05-17 , 19:39
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,519
Really bad tonight. Download just gets disconnected. Test file used during testing using the cashed servers downloads a bit , then fails. Youtube streaming solid at 22Mbps
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
catchup plus, download speed, sonymax
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CatchUp+ Download Speeds Krugie DStv Catch Up 11 2017-02-21 16:24
Desktop download is seriously slow Toilet Duck DStv Catch Up 4 2015-03-09 10:58
Two Speeds indicated for Downloading Digital Fan DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 5 2012-08-01 15:26
'Video on demand' download to HD PVR Bryopsis HD PVR 3 2009-09-21 16:49
1110 - Remote stops working after auto download davey Standard decoder 4 2008-12-16 17:31