Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Now > DSTV Now error: maximum number of streams
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-10-03 , 07:45
Yats Yats is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Default DSTV Now error: maximum number of streams

Hello
I started getting a message when streaming DSTV Now on my iPad this weekend. It connects fine but after a few minutes, I get an error stating "You have reached the maximum number of streams(2) allowed for this account" (screenshot attached).

There are other devices on the account but they all belong to us and were not streaming at the time. We have called the DSTV call centre but got told that we "probably gave out details to someone else and they are using it" but this is not the case. We also tried a second account and still had the same error.

Not sure if its related but it worked fine on Saturday. We had a storm in the evening and the power went out. The app might have been "on" at the time but not streaming and would have lost wifi connectivity.

Is there anything that can be done to fix this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0250.jpg (62.2 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-10-06 , 06:07
russellfogg russellfogg is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 35
Ditto on this issue for me as well, I have assumed it is related to the iOS11 upgrade.

DSTV has released 3 updates to their app since the upgrade but I still get the error.

Tried unregistering all devices, deleting the app, installing the latest version and still the same error message

Only workaround for now is to download then Airplay to the TV which works
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-10-06 , 07:51
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,506
I wonder why the Mods missed this thread - is MC aware of the problem, is it general as believed or related to specific devices / setup issues? What fix is available or planned?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-10-06 , 08:04
Yats Yats is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellfogg View Post
Ditto on this issue for me as well, I have assumed it is related to the iOS11 upgrade.

DSTV has released 3 updates to their app since the upgrade but I still get the error.

Tried unregistering all devices, deleting the app, installing the latest version and still the same error message

Only workaround for now is to download then Airplay to the TV which works
Think its not related to iSO11. I'm using an iPad2 so its on iOS 9.x. I mainly use it for sport so downloading is not an option for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
I wonder why the Mods missed this thread - is MC aware of the problem, is it general as believed or related to specific devices / setup issues? What fix is available or planned?
My wife has been in contact with MC support again and they got through to someone who said that they have had some other instances of this. They were supposed to call us last night to get details of the device but didn't. Hope it can get resolved soon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-10-06 , 08:10
Philbru Philbru is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 76
Same problem here. I changed my DSTV password just in case but it didn't help. I'm using an iPhone 6 with iOS 11. This problem started after I installed iOS 11, but I assume that that coincided with a DSTV Now app update.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-10-09 , 07:24
Yats Yats is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Any update from MC on this error? Was very frustrating watching the F1 race. Would get the error every 5 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-10-09 , 07:40
Philbru Philbru is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 76
It seems that I experience this problem when the following criteria are met:
  • Use Airplay to display DSTV Now on my Apple TV
  • Do nothing else on my phone
If I do things on my phone while Airplaying to my Apple TV, the problem doesn't occur. It's also important to note that I'm referring to regular Airplay here where your phone casts media to an Apple TV and then doesn't show it itself (this in contrast to Airplay Mirroring where both devices show the media - the problem doesn't seem to occur when using Mirroring). The advantage of this mode is that you can use your phone for other things while still watching TV. This all worked before the recent updates.

Can anyone else here confirm that this problem only occurs under these circumstances?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-10-12 , 10:51
MC Grace MC Grace is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 372
Hi All

Apologies for the delayed response. Our apps team just deployed a fix for this error. It will be available on the app store soon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-11-02 , 09:32
Yats Yats is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Sorry for not replying earlier but want to thank the MC team for the app update that fixed this issue (version 7.11.1). Its been working fine since the update
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's happened to the Supersport Streams? skills Sport 14 2016-04-05 21:00
Maximum Number of Series Recordings on Explora Elizabeth PVR Decoders 4 2015-12-10 07:50
Catchup IOS Error:Invalid ID number or Smartcard Number faf_za DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 4 2014-03-17 14:03
Maximum cable run from SD PVR Egbos3 SD PVR 11 2009-11-02 19:36
Maximum number of recordings reached lappies_in_jhb HD PVR 4 2008-11-23 21:37