Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > New software on Pace feedback and Bugs
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-05-21 , 19:20
gertvdwalt gertvdwalt is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74
Default New software on Pace feedback and Bugs

Hallo
Two days since the update and no one has started a thread about the Bugs!

First time for everything...

Not a big bug but something I should note:
When using the i plate to go to the start of a program in the buffer, on OK the decoder gives the following message:
"This reminder could not be set because: This program has already started"
  #2  
Old 2011-05-22 , 00:27
Doug_Dread's Avatar
Doug_Dread Doug_Dread is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wild West of Jozi
Posts: 457
Apart from the fact I had to delete and reset all my serial rcordings, they were still listed but failed to record, it seems to be business as usual. I don't see much change.

One apparent improvement is that the programmes in the TV Guide load faster and where the loading used to freeze before, requiring me to switch off and switch on to get them to start loading again, this hasn't happened since the update.

Channel changing is slower though. From pressing P+ or P- it takes about 10 seconds of hiccupping for the next channel to settle down and play cleanly.

I'm also now getting freezes for up to 30 seconds after pressing 'Exit' from viewing programme content or working on the serial recordings screen. This is intermittent and not every time. Enough to be annoying though.

I sometimes wish for the good old days, about a year or more back, when there were less 'features' but normal day-to-day use was much quicker and more reliable.
__________________
Dual LNB, 2x6-way m/switch (4 used), Pace HDPVR 4 tuner, 65" Samsung UHD TV 16:9, WD media player/Samsung J7500 BluRay player, all connected via HDMI through a Denon X3200W AVR.
  #3  
Old 2011-05-22 , 21:59
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,931
Could this be a bug or am I doing something wrong?

I have a number of recorded programs stored on my HD Pace 4 Decoder but have experienced a problem when trying to get these into some sort of order. In the past I could arrange these programs in alphabetical, date or some sort of order.
I now don't seem to be able to do this.

Whenever I select the white button on the remote to arrange or sort the programs into the order that I want them to be I get a menu showing me the title of the program that would automatically be highlighted, the option to change the title and one or two other options including arranging the programs from A - Z or Z - A. However, when selecting these options nothing seems to happen!!!

What am I doing wrong and can someone please assist me.

Thanks
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
  #4  
Old 2011-05-23 , 08:56
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
Could this be a bug or am I doing something wrong?

I have a number of recorded programs stored on my HD Pace 4 Decoder but have experienced a problem when trying to get these into some sort of order. In the past I could arrange these programs in alphabetical, date or some sort of order.
I now don't seem to be able to do this.

Whenever I select the white button on the remote to arrange or sort the programs into the order that I want them to be I get a menu showing me the title of the program that would automatically be highlighted, the option to change the title and one or two other options including arranging the programs from A - Z or Z - A. However, when selecting these options nothing seems to happen!!!

What am I doing wrong and can someone please assist me.

Thanks
No you are not wrong in that the "sorting" option do not work properly ----- but it has always been like that, so it is not anything new.

I have "old" and "new" recordings, all started/made at different times, which sort themselves in "groups". In other words:

GroupA: all made say 3 months ago: all sort "A-Z" correctly.
GroupB: all made say 2 weeks ago: all sort "A-Z" correctly but in a separate group.
GroupC: all made last week: all sort "A-Z" correctly in another group.

Names the same, but with season and series number added by me after they have recorded.

So say you have all the "merlins" recorded. The chances are seasons will all be in separate "groups"

We have reported that the sorting does not work from day one, and BTW even on the SD decoder -- MC never got sorting to work 100% correct - it is still a problem.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2011-05-23 at 09:58. .
  #5  
Old 2011-05-23 , 09:36
DrKoos DrKoos is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default Recording List Sorting

The recording list sorting seem to have a problem.

The sorting makes no sense. I select the A-Z option using the white button, but the recordings are still not grouped alpabetically.

Any idea as to what this issue is?
  #6  
Old 2011-05-23 , 10:01
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrKoos View Post
The recording list sorting seem to have a problem.

The sorting makes no sense. I select the A-Z option using the white button, but the recordings are still not grouped alpabetically.
Any idea as to what this issue is?

Which decoder? PACE HDPVR 2P and PACE HDPVR 4 tuner both have sorting hassles, and have always had those issues.
The UEC HD PVR also has sorting issues but different ones.

See this thread http://forum.dstv.com/showpost.php?p=90763&postcount=4

Try and "sort" in date order oldest first, then select an item again and resort "A-Z" again. Sometimes it works and it gets items listed together with the oldest item first but in alphabeical order.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2011-05-23 at 12:35. .
  #7  
Old 2011-05-23 , 12:00
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,931
Geoff D I've had my decoder for over a year now, the Pace 4 tuner, and have never experienced this problem before. It's only recently that I have noticed this problem.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
  #8  
Old 2011-05-23 , 12:03
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrKoos View Post
The recording list sorting seem to have a problem.

The sorting makes no sense. I select the A-Z option using the white button, but the recordings are still not grouped alpabetically.

Any idea as to what this issue is?
Exactly what I have been experiencing for the past few days. Never had this problem before when it was possible to sort by date or alphabet. Now everything is all over the place. Please Multichoice sort this out as a matter of urgency.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
  #9  
Old 2011-05-23 , 12:33
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
Geoff D I've had my decoder for over a year now, the Pace 4 tuner, and have never experienced this problem before. It's only recently that I have noticed this problem.
Bug number 068 reported by Dominic and verified by myself within days of the PACE 4 Tuners original release -- never been resolved

Nothing to do with the latest s/w roll-out --- The replacment 4 tuner decoder I got from MC behaves the same and has the same sorting hassles
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #10  
Old 2011-05-23 , 14:26
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug_Dread View Post
Apart from the fact I had to delete and reset all my serial rcordings, they were still listed but failed to record, it seems to be business as usual. I don't see much change.
The impact of downloading this software was tested and NO impact to recordings (either existing or scheduled were found). This may be unrelated.
 
Tags
recording, sorting
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HD PVR Software (5 May) your feedback / comments / etc gni13 HD PVR 600 2010-09-19 10:05
HDPVR Bugs with latest software LeStalkerGarou HD PVR 10 2010-03-26 08:58
Feedback on updated software (6 August) MC Brenda HD PVR 260 2009-12-30 08:44
Updated software now available for the 1110 single view decoder (Bugs & Suggestions) Simon Standard decoder 2 2009-10-16 17:13
Recording Bugs - New Software Ivan HD PVR 5 2009-05-13 09:57