Forum > Decoders > Installation > Need Help - Explora and PVR2
Old 2017-03-17 , 15:15
Still listens to the wireless

Default Need Help - Explora and PVR2

Hi All

New to this Forum and had a real battle to get onto it!!

I have an Explora 1 and my older PVR 2 and I want to hook them together (only running Explora now) I have a twin cable Dish and the Switch that comes with the Explora.

I have a second TV in the Bedroom and want to put that one onto the PVR. (right now it just echos the main TV in the Lounge). I'm NOT an expert at doing this but have always done my own installations since I first had DSTV many years ago.

But I can't find the information I need. I'm looking for a basic diagram of how to wire this up and any settings I need to do to the two units. Also I find lots of references to a "Heart Beat" cable. What is this, where do I get it and how do I connect it??

Emailing DSTV just gets me the answer - "Go to an Installer" and I'm not happy with this. I know I can do it myself if I have the right information!!

Thanks for any help.
Old 2017-03-17 , 15:35
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide

The quickest and easiest way get all the setting right and the extra view setup is to take the 2 decoders to a walk in center or a agency. They will do the necessary changes on the decoder settings needed

The heart beat cable is simply a coax cable running from the primary decoder to the secondary decoder to be able to have two viewing environments under one subscription. It runs from the one of the rf ports on the primary decoder to one of the rf ports on the secondary decoder. The agent doing the setup will be able to tell you which two ports to link.

There should be a spare unicable port on the lnb switch you have that can use to connect up the second decoder to the dish
Old 2017-03-17 , 16:03

Thanks John
Have you been to one of these centers up here? You sit around for half a day and often get an assistant with limited skills - very frustrating!!