Forum > Content > General > Annoying message that happens basically every day
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-03-08 , 14:50
Dreamer Dreamer is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 75
Question Annoying message that happens basically every day

Anyone else experiencing the annoying message where the screen goes black with a message box saying that goes something like

Checking dstv subscription ...
or
Checking subscription status ...

This has been happening for about the last 2 weeks.
Last night i was watching a recording and it happened and it kicked me out of the recording back to normal TV ... very annoying
__________________
Setup:
Explora (Primary)
HDPVR2 (Extraview)

Last edited by Dreamer; 2017-03-08 at 14:54. .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-03-08 , 14:56
OrangeII's Avatar
OrangeII OrangeII is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamer View Post
Anyone else experiencing the annoying message where the screen goes black with a message box saying that goes something like

Checking dstv subscription ...
or
Checking subscription status ...

This has been happening for about the last 2 weeks.
Last night i was watching a recording and it happened and it kicked me out of the recording back to normal TV ... very annoying
You think that one is annoying? The other day I got a message telling me I have a PVR, and that to enjoy the functionality I should obtain a PVR subscription. This while watching a recorded programme via the PVR...

Kicked me out of my programme, and wouldn't let me back in until after a reboot.
__________________
It is what it is.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-03-08 , 15:05
Dreamer Dreamer is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeII View Post
You think that one is annoying? The other day I got a message telling me I have a PVR, and that to enjoy the functionality I should obtain a PVR subscription. This while watching a recorded programme via the PVR...

Kicked me out of my programme, and wouldn't let me back in until after a reboot.

I think its a conspiracy. Someone is sitting in the dstv control room and fires off one of these weird messages to certain subscribers and then they wait to see how long it takes for that subscriber to post about it in the forum
__________________
Setup:
Explora (Primary)
HDPVR2 (Extraview)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-03-08 , 15:11
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,874
I had that msg Monday night. Took 10 minutes to fix it.
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-03-08 , 16:26
steel_dog steel_dog is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 75
Yep had that come up often. The recent updates seem to have rectified that.
I had worse too... the darn thing kept saying I didn't have a sub. Yanked the smartcard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-03-08 , 16:33
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 2,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by steel_dog View Post
Yep had that come up often. The recent updates seem to have rectified that.
I had worse too... the darn thing kept saying I didn't have a sub. Yanked the smartcard
Yanking of smart card is fine as long as you don't break smartcard otherwise you're stuffed
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-03-08 , 16:37
steel_dog steel_dog is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanP View Post
Yanking of smart card is fine as long as you don't break smartcard otherwise you're stuffed
Anything to preserve my sanity. Was that or deal with the callcentre. Hehehehe...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-03-08 , 16:52
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,355
They are aware of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mpho View Post
Dear Customers,

To solve the E102 error message (PVR issues), please remove and re-insert the smart card. This is independent of the channel.
We are hoping to download software to resolve this issue at the end of March, the exact date is not set yet.
We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Regards,
MC Mpho
But you need to post these things in PVR Decoders as the General section is only for things about channels and their content and so won't necessarily be seen by the right Mods.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-03-09 , 09:26
Dreamer Dreamer is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
They are aware of it.



But you need to post these things in PVR Decoders as the General section is only for things about channels and their content and so won't necessarily be seen by the right Mods.
When i posted this i wasn't sure if it was just related to the PVR or not. Now i do , thanks for the update.
Mine just flashes and goes away but if it does ever get stuck with the message i will do the smartcard thing.
__________________
Setup:
Explora (Primary)
HDPVR2 (Extraview)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-03-09 , 10:05
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamer View Post
When i posted this i wasn't sure if it was just related to the PVR or not. Now i do , thanks for the update.
Glad to help :-)

Yes, it's sometimes confusing where to put the tech queries. Some of us think it's then best to use the PVR Decoders section anyway, however almost all those technical sections are regularly monitored by the same team (except for the Installations section).
I guess it's impossible to find a fits-all solution to any forum structure
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There's an HDTV size for every room and every budget, but which size is right for you Tulani Satellite & TV Technology 29 2012-07-17 20:03
Annoying message on screen Crusher Service Queries 8 2012-02-05 18:00
E30 message comes on every day chrisc HD PVR 29 2011-12-09 17:49
HD PVR needs reboot every day Macman HD PVR 5 2010-01-20 21:40
Upgrades every day nexxus HD PVR 1 2010-01-03 00:02