Forum > Content > General > Itís here! The DStv Explora now connects to the internet
Closed Thread  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2014-11-13 , 07:48
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,073
The channels on DStv Now will be all the sports channels and all the M-Net and M-Net movie channels. So actually a bit more than 12.
  #22  
Old 2014-11-13 , 08:11
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,123
Thanks. Does that include Vuzu Amp or just pure-name M-Net channels?
  #23  
Old 2014-11-13 , 08:13
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,073
Just pure name M-Net channels. Pls remember the DStv Now App is only for DStv Premium customers with PVRs.
  #24  
Old 2014-11-13 , 08:29
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Pls remember the DStv Now App is only for DStv Premium customers with PVRs.
A bit uncertain what is meant by this - I'm presuming PVR etc. access fee related, not that it has to work in conjunction with Explora internet access.

BTW, I think it's fantastic that access (where available) will be offered to those travelling throughout Africa and the islands!

Last edited by Optimist; 2014-11-13 at 08:52. .
  #25  
Old 2014-11-13 , 08:40
BruceA BruceA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Please can I confirm a couple of things:
1) Catch Up Plus content will be SD quality, with no option for HD? Is this due to hard drive capacity on the Explora, or bandwidth concerns? Surely it would be simple enough to make that a customer option?
2) The DStv Now app will only stream via the internet, and not from the Explora? So no way to access recorded content from the Explora, or avoid data costs when accessing Catch Up on a laptop or tablet from another room?
3) The dongle will only be available on the 18th, but the service will be available on the 14th?
  #26  
Old 2014-11-13 , 09:03
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceA View Post
1) Catch Up Plus content will be SD quality, with no option for HD? Is this due to hard drive capacity on the Explora, or bandwidth concerns? Surely it would be simple enough to make that a customer option?
I think this was covered earlier in the thread - as I understand it, if enough bandwidth is available on your side then it will be in HD. Further throttling related enhancements are also in the pipeline.
  #27  
Old 2014-11-13 , 09:09
BruceA BruceA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
I think this was covered earlier in the thread - as I understand it, if enough bandwidth is available on your side then it will be in HD. Further throttling related enhancements are also in the pipeline.
I think that only applies to streaming on the DStv Now app.
  #28  
Old 2014-11-13 , 09:16
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceA View Post
I think that only applies to streaming on the DStv Now app.
I'm basing it on this, GWalker attended the launch and has some involvement;

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwalker View Post
Content from Catch Up Plus is in SD to lower bandwidth usage.
Presuming that means it's alternatively in HD to higher bandwidth usage.
  #29  
Old 2014-11-13 , 09:19
BruceA BruceA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Honestly, considering how long this has been in development, I think the additional functionality offered by connecting the Explora to the internet is largely underwhelming. All it seems to offer is remote recording and access to Catch Up Plus, which sounds like it will be mostly archival content.

None of the more interesting features like streaming to a device over WiFi, or recommendations based on viewing patterns have been included. To be expected to pay R400 for something that should have been included in the original design, and offers such limited functionality, is really disappointing!
  #30  
Old 2014-11-13 , 09:22
BruceA BruceA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
I'm basing it on this, GWalker attended the launch and has some involvement;



Presuming that means it's alternatively in HD to higher bandwidth usage.
I read it as "reduce bandwidth usage", not "lower bandwidth users".
Closed Thread  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPDATED! Get your DStv Catch Up schedules here (incl May schedules) MC Brenda DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2014-04-29 10:19
DStv On Demand missing shows - HD - PLEASE READ STICKIES BEFORE POSTING HERE MC Nic DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 126 2013-10-04 19:33
DStv On Demand missing shows - SD - PLEASE READ STICKIES BEFORE POSTING HERE MC Nic DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 180 2013-09-13 08:55
DStv IP HD PVR here soon chrisvdh Satellite & TV Technology 2 2013-02-09 10:06
SyFy back on DStv? Here's hoping... Funkymunkyza DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 47 2010-08-10 12:43