Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-14 , 07:56
bertvanz bertvanz is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
Default New Explora 2

So by upgrading to a new Explora 2 you decrease the recording time by half: 110 hours instead of 220? And they dont tell you that! To me that is a downgrade!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-14 , 09:06
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 397
They do tell you that, the bit that it's half the memory size.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-14 , 09:07
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 397
My question however is MC going to come out with a decoder with wifi?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-02-14 , 09:24
bertvanz bertvanz is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rock4us2 View Post
They do tell you that, the bit that it's half the memory size.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
where do they tell you that?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-02-14 , 09:29
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 397
Guess maybe you just spend that muc time on the forum but there was a whole host of posts about this very issue

https://selfservice.dstv.com/devices...stv-explora-2/

__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-02-14 , 16:59
bertvanz bertvanz is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rock4us2 View Post
Guess maybe you just spend that muc time on the forum but there was a whole host of posts about this very issue

https://selfservice.dstv.com/devices...stv-explora-2/

So in effect what you are saying I was an idiot to believe the Explora 2 is an upgrade? And I should have gone into the forum to find the information? I should not have trusted DSTV's sales talk? I agree this info is available AFTER the fact I am talking BEFORE the fact. Nowhere in their promo does this get mentioned. To cut a major feature of a product in half is a big deal and they should make people aware of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-02-14 , 17:05
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by bertvanz View Post
So in effect what you are saying I was an idiot to believe the Explora 2 is an upgrade? And I should have gone into the forum to find the information? I should not have trusted DSTV's sales talk? I agree this info is available AFTER the fact I am talking BEFORE the fact. Nowhere in their promo does this get mentioned. To cut a major feature of a product in half is a big deal and they should make people aware of it.
Well don't beat yourself up to hard. It's just a fact you overlooked.

As far as specs go, it's only the recording space that got downgraded, the number of CU & CU+ titles remains the same because of a new compression technology and it's easier to setup a E2+E2 Xtraview enviroment. And then there's the shiny new remote.

All else considered, I have never used my hard drive past 40% and I have stuff from like last year August I still have watched. I don't use CU+ per se, I use DSTV Now & btwn that and CU I am good.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-02-15 , 15:37
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rock4us2 View Post
And then there's the shiny new remote.
Don't get me started on that!
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-02-15 , 17:14
rock4us2 rock4us2 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Don't get me started on that!
It's that's bad?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
I watch all sports excluding handball (don't get the point) and i enjoy tv with intellegent dialogue. Explora + Explora 2 + Samsung S5
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off