Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-12-02 , 09:44
lovelight lovelight is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 2
Unhappy TV Guide not working

I installed my HD PVR (2P) yesterday. When going to the TV guide, I can't see any details of programs 3hours onwards. It shows me the current program per channel, and the one after that. But nothing is visible after that, also nothing for the next day.

What can be the problem anyone? I have called the call centre 4 times and each time I get another answer (that does not help me at all).

Hope someone can help!
Thx
  #2  
Old 2010-12-02 , 10:35
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,231
@lovelight - Even though I am not a technical person, I know that the first two programmes on your TV guide (i-Plate) come in with your live television signal. The rest of the TV guide is pulled from your decoder memory (the 2nd channel on your 2P). This same channel is also assigned for your PVR recordings. Therefore, if there is interference with the signal eg rainstorms or you have recordings scheduled at the time it tries to download, your TV guide would not have downloaded.

Ensure you leave your decoder on and cancel your recordings and it should download. Also, when you are scrolling, give it a little bit of time.
  #3  
Old 2010-12-02 , 10:44
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovelight View Post
I installed my HD PVR (2P) yesterday. When going to the TV guide, I can't see any details of programs 3hours onwards. It shows me the current program per channel, and the one after that. But nothing is visible after that, also nothing for the next day.

What can be the problem anyone? I have called the call centre 4 times and each time I get another answer (that does not help me at all).

Hope someone can help!
Thx
You do have a Dual LNB connected to both 2 LNB ports. What is you signal strength and quality on Tuner 2?

G
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #4  
Old 2010-12-02 , 11:19
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,245
@lovelight - what you are experiencing points to a problem with tuner 2. It may be that you have a loose connection or that there is a signal quality issue. BTW, you may also find that you have difficulties getting recordings to work correctly.
If you have a multiswitch in your installation, it may be the port on the multiswitch which is faulty. One quick way to ID this is to swop the cables between tuner 1 and tuner 2. If the guide then works correctly, it confirms a problem with tuner 2 (and the cabling connecting it to the satellite).
PS : Moving this thread to the HD PVR section.
  #5  
Old 2010-12-03 , 10:44
lovelight lovelight is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 2
Thx for your feedback & assistance. I checked this morning and noted that under "tuner 2" there's nothing, is this suppose to be empty? Tuner 1 has info under it, but not Tuner 2.

I have swopped the cables but if I do this there's no reception and I get an error message saying I must check my signal/installation.
  #6  
Old 2010-12-03 , 10:54
MC Brenda's Avatar
MC Brenda MC Brenda is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 3,245
If you are getting that error when you swap cables it definitely points to a problem at the installation (and with the connections). You don't mention if you are using a multiswitch in your installation,but if you are, it is most likely the cause (possibly a dead port).
  #7  
Old 2010-12-03 , 11:27
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Brenda (ex iTV) View Post
If you are getting that error when you swap cables it definitely points to a problem at the installation (and with the connections). You don't mention if you are using a multiswitch in your installation,but if you are, it is most likely the cause (possibly a dead port).
The other possibility is that you have an LNB failure and /or a cable failure if you do not have a MS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovelight View Post
Thx for your feedback & assistance. I checked this morning and noted that under "tuner 2" there's nothing, is this suppose to be empty? Tuner 1 has info under it, but not Tuner 2.

I have swopped the cables but if I do this there's no reception and I get an error message saying I must check my signal/installation.
tuner 2 should always show signal strength and quality levels.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #8  
Old 2010-12-03 , 11:49
Merv's Avatar
Merv Merv is offline
A big, eagle-eyed baobab.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westville, Durban
Posts: 5,213
My money is on this being a single LNB feed + a non-LNB feed
__________________
Twin LNB > Explora Switch > Pace HDPVR 2P + Explora (+UEC HDPVR 4U)
Video: HDMI > 4x2 switch > TVs
Audio: Optical > Amp
  #9  
Old 2010-12-03 , 11:52
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merv G View Post
My money is on this being a single LNB feed + a non-LNB feed
If I was a betting man, this was my 1st thought...
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Tags
tv guide
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make HD User Guide the same as SDPVR Guide francet HD PVR 19 2011-11-07 16:16
Electronic Programme Guide not working! Aceius HD PVR 5 2009-05-13 14:44