Forum > Decoders > Installation > Dstv 4137 5s Inatallation
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-11-10 , 07:19
fahmemaal786 fahmemaal786 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Default Dstv 4137 5s Inatallation

If I have 2 dstv 4137 decoders on how will the heart beat work as there is no rf ports.it seems mc is forcing us to use the smart lnb.Also how will signal distribution work to other tv points.If modulator is installed,will we be able to use tv links.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-11-10 , 08:13
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Further discussion is in the Standard Decoders section: Dstv 4137 5s

MC we need all this info please. Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-11-10 , 10:34
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,136
Have asked Constant to come and respond here - the intention is for your to use the Smart LNB. Constant can elaborate on the specifics
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-11-10 , 10:48
fahmemaal786 fahmemaal786 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
After more than 2 hours and this is the response we get.
Poor response MC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-11-10 , 11:21
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
So far this is what a few of us have tried.

(1) Yes it seems to be the intention that the HB signal will be delivered to and from this decoder via the LNB cabling and a SLNB.

(2) Some success has been achieved by using a diplexer in reverse and getting a HB signal through that way.

(3) There does not seem to be any idea that the 4137 will ever be a Primary decoder

(4) There is support for tvLINKS (the decoder cannot provide power for a tvLINK), but there is still an outstanding question about how the decoder will be able to relay commands. It would also seem that remote control of the decoder is not deemed a requirement.

(5) The decoder does have two tuners. That has been confirmed by a few persons.

Not much but there it is so far.

A direct technical response from MC will be most welcome.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-11-10 , 11:27
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahmemaal786 View Post
After more than 2 hours and this is the response we get.
Poor response MC
No, 2 hours is not long to wait on this forum - these Mods are mostly busy managers responding, and Constant is more senior so they can't just drop everything.
Regulars are used to it, worth the patience to get the more accurate info :-)

Just such a shame that your earlier thread was overlooked, but I guess that will happen sometimes.

My specific question at this stage - I presume the "4139" is a false rumour, just the new 4137 we're discussing here now?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-11-10 , 11:40
fahmemaal786 fahmemaal786 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
Shame.Give you due for trying to cover up MC Blunder.4137 decoder is real and no rumor.as for 4139 i havent seen anything so far so i cant comment on that
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-11-10 , 11:53
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by fahmemaal786 View Post
Shame.Give you due for trying to cover up MC Blunder.
You've got as much right to comment as anyone else as a customer, but as a newbie, kindly watch your manners please - I've helped a lot of people here and have much criticism for MC, when due!
Wild disruptive accusations without enough knowledge of who does what here is considered the actions of an unthinking troll. You don't want to end up ignored by senior Forumites who can help in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-11-10 , 12:03
fahmemaal786 fahmemaal786 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 7
We asking about the decoder here.Just remember you denied that this decoder existed when I posted a thread in decoders section so please.we are all trying to get aswers here.if got comments please pm me
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-11-10 , 12:06
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,136
Optimist, no 4139.

Constant is away from the office but I spoke to him on the phone. He said that we really are recommending that our customers rather use accredited installers who have been trained extensively to install these decoders - you may need an RF remod and a separate remote blaster, so not a straight-forard install.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dstv 4137 5s fahmemaal786 Standard Decoders 14 2017-11-10 13:27