Forum > Decoders > Installation > Extraview has 2 Explorer + signal lost to 4S
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-10-16 , 18:16
demiro demiro is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16
Default Extraview has 2 Explorer + signal lost to 4S

Setup as below. 4S gives E48-32 error after lightning trip. Then when enabled via remote on/off it resets and declares same result with green light. Took the 4S for MS test which was OK. On resinstall found Satellite settings got scrambled so reset LNB type to Unicable. But what userband? It only accepts band 1 at 1420 MHz otherwise refuses to budge and demands you try again. Signal strength shows low then disappears. The userband guide indicates that band 6 should be used. The explorers are using 0,1,2 (secondary) and 3,4,5 (primary) both with good performing. Suggestions? (other than turf it or call for an accredited rip off c/w a misleading story for free). Maybe an amp for the 4S run? Its approaching 30 metres. A closer dish not feasible.
__________________
Since Aug 2016: 2 Explora + 4S as 3rd view, 3 Diplexer, 1 SLNB LMX501, 80cm dish, 3 coax lightning protector (Space surge ender), 3 Clearline 15A socket surge protector
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-10-16 , 18:25
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by demiro View Post
On resinstall found Satellite settings got scrambled so reset LNB type to Unicable. But what userband? It only accepts band 1 at 1420 MHz otherwise refuses to budge and demands you try again.
This alone says the 4S is definitely faulty, so MC were wrong to say it's ok and if you go back insist on them exchanging it. Ask for a supervisor if necessary.

But firstly, I now see in your signature that you have a Smart LNB (SLNB) so you can try this;
Change the 4S to use a Universal feed from the SLNB and change to using that on the actual SLNB as well. (And you would now need to terminate the previously used Unicable port.)


Note that even if the problem gets sorted out in one of the ways discussed in this thread, it's not a guarantee that all will stay ok as lightening damage can be wider than expected and so cause other unpredictable issues.

EDIT: We could for instance help you change the other secondary decoder's settings to allow Index 1 to work on the 4S, but that setting isn't holding anyway...

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-10-16 at 19:01. . Reason: Further thoughts, but not essential for the OP himself
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-10-16 , 18:35
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Regarding the 30 metres - that is a bit long, and amps of this sort are not readily available for individual use. Would be too costly anyway.

But it worked before, so should be ok and that can't cause the problems you're having with the 4S' settings.
What you could try in this regard is to replace the LNB cable, otherwise the only thing to do in your case is to setup the decoder in a room closer to the LNB, feed its output to the room its being viewed in, and use a TV Link Eye or Remote Blaster to control it from that distance.

Geoff D may have more ideas to add later.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-10-16 , 18:54
demiro demiro is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16
Thanks for this response. I will do as you advise and give feedback.
__________________
Since Aug 2016: 2 Explora + 4S as 3rd view, 3 Diplexer, 1 SLNB LMX501, 80cm dish, 3 coax lightning protector (Space surge ender), 3 Clearline 15A socket surge protector
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-10-16 , 19:53
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
Are you sure the 4S was not connected to the universal port anyway?
If so the default network setting would apply.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-10-17 , 09:42
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 325
To change userbands you need to delete the previous userband by pressing the left arrow button than type in the new userband freq and corresponding index for that userband .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-10-17 , 09:43
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 325
E48 can also be due to a faulty power supply , did they test your decoder withg your power supply or their own.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-10-17 , 10:46
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Field Services View Post
To change userbands you need to delete the previous userband by pressing the left arrow button than type in the new userband freq and corresponding index for that userband .
Another piece of essential info missing from public info. Thanks yet again David, you're helping us fill in many blanks


Unfortunately this 4S could quite likely remain unstable on Unicable anyway;

Quote:
Originally Posted by demiro View Post
On resinstall found Satellite settings got scrambled so reset LNB type to Unicable...

@Geoff - please contact me privately if there's anything more to discuss.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-10-19 , 15:18
demiro demiro is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Are you sure the 4S was not connected to the universal port anyway?
If so the default network setting would apply.
All 3 Unicable ports in use. Attempted to employ the universal port for the 4S without success. TV shows an attempt to obtain signal then shows no signal message and decoder gives nothing at all not even error code or DSTV logo. Installed new coax and new diplexer. Same thing happens now even with the original config. Cannot even access 4S settings now.
MC test - uses their own everything but would not use my primary for any heartbeat check or verify other settings. Tested on Unicable and universal direct to LNB input. Not interested in user band. I asked if the Exraview with 3rd TV via 4S is still activated on the system, was given affirmative. No simulation of the config being used is attempted, would only test the 4S decoder direct connection functionality, would not have the diplexer in the test connection.

Can scrambled settings cause no access?
Next must be a new power supply. After that must be new Smart LNB and then only thing is exorcism by an accredited Priest.
__________________
Since Aug 2016: 2 Explora + 4S as 3rd view, 3 Diplexer, 1 SLNB LMX501, 80cm dish, 3 coax lightning protector (Space surge ender), 3 Clearline 15A socket surge protector

Last edited by demiro; 2017-10-19 at 15:23. .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-10-19 , 15:53
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
Why are all 3 Unicable ports in service?

Can only combine 3 decoders under XV?

Not using a normal HB cable?

Which decoders are combined under XV? Cannot use the universal port and feed HB via the SLNB, won't work. Maybe this is the reason you are having problems.

Yes MC would test the decoder with the standard universal LNB port connection because that is the default network configuration.

Only the 3 decoders connected to the unicable ports are able to be connected under XV with the HB via the SLNB and cabling with a diplexer connected to the 4S and any Explora model 1's you may have in the mix.

Prove the 4S and the universal port is okay by removing the diplexer and connecting decoder straight to the universal port with default network settings.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-10-19 at 15:55. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explorer Cancels Schedules Recordings 24 hours after thge have been set? Pete S PVR Decoders 0 2015-01-02 16:20
Replacing sd per with explorer aardvark PVR Decoders 4 2014-12-19 09:19
Explorer software update? Hubert Explora HD PVR 2 2013-09-05 18:48
"lost" lost me! Sankie DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2010-04-20 12:29