Forum > Decoders > Installation > Explora and 2 Tune HD PVR Xtraview
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2015-02-21 , 09:10
sfvdberg sfvdberg is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
One more possibly stupid question before I tackle this today. I presume that I should call MC and have them link the decoders before expecting any results?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2015-02-21 , 09:14
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,335
I'll quickly help with this easy enough one

Use the uncoded channel 100 on both decoders to help determine success (and by checking your signal values).
Only when happy all seems to be working and with the HB (heartbeat) cable already connected, then call to set up XtraView.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2015-02-21 , 16:54
sfvdberg sfvdberg is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Right,everything is functioning perfectly......except the fact that the image quality isn't great on bedroom tv. Horizontal lines with a strange whistling sound in the background. Would one attribute this to the single cable as per the MC agent?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2015-02-21 , 18:55
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,399
No you need to confirm that the decoder and the TV are set to the same UHF channel, AND both are set for PAL I.

Also make sure the decoders are set for different channel numbers, as low as possible, say 23 and 25 .
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2015-02-21 at 18:57. .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2015-02-22 , 06:30
sfvdberg sfvdberg is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
My tv seems to keep tuning to channel 63. Which menu do I use to set these settings on the decoders?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2015-02-22 , 08:27
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfvdberg View Post
My tv seems to keep tuning to channel 63. Which menu do I use to set these settings on the decoders?
Do not know what screen on the Explora. On the 2P it is under the advanced options somewhere.

Set up 2 channels on the tv's one for each decoder after you have adjusted the decoders
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2015-02-22 , 10:05
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,335
Ok, I can help a bit with this too as far as the Explora goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfvdberg View Post
My tv seems to keep tuning to channel 63. Which menu do I use to set these settings on the decoders?
DStv Central \ Settings \ System Settings \ UHF

There adjust "UHF Tuning" with the Left or Right Arrow button. Then press the Back button (not the OK button) to save and exit.

Keep in mind that you may already or later be picking up interference from another UHF source, so if unsuccessful at first in eliminating the interference then try some neighbouring UHF channels.

And of course while making this adjustment you need to initially be monitoring on another type of connection other than RF, either HDMI or video (composite), otherwise as soon as you change the RF channel you won't be able to view the output anymore without first adjusting the TV again.

Let us know if you didn't find the setting for "PAL I".
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2015-02-22 , 12:18
sfvdberg sfvdberg is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Bedroom TV now looking fine. I will just check the PAL 1 setting.....not sure where to find it? Thanks a million for all the help! Nice to know there are still people out there willing to help out!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2015-02-22 , 12:45
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,335
Great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfvdberg View Post
I will just check the PAL 1 setting.....
Sounds like you're ok but worth checking.

BTW, it's actually an "I" not a "1".

I also can't recall where it is in the menus for the 2 tuner PVRs, you'll just have to check all related sections for it. If an access code is needed it is 9949.

On the Explora it's in
DStv Central \ Settings \ User Preferences \ Video & Audio

On your TVs - your guess is as good as ours
Best to read the manuals if you still have them.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-11-11 , 11:55
IanB IanB is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default Hd PVR P2 and Explorer

Hi Geoff

Please would you post how to connect with HD P2 PVR and Explorer with HD P2 PVR as main decoder and Explorer as xtraview secondary decoder?
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto-tune reminder not working on ch 185 Jack HD PVR 5 2011-01-26 18:14
SD PVR: Can't set an Auto-tune from the TV Guide mosey DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 12 2010-10-07 10:15
2 TVs linked to Single View - can't tune in SABC and eTV channels on 2nd TV ClintyG Installation 5 2010-06-30 10:17
Cannot tune remote tv's tjoosthuizen XtraView 5 2009-11-15 20:14