Forum > Decoders > Installation > some frequencies not working all the time
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-10-16 , 10:17
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,399
I will reply soon. I have to load the program on my PC to do the calcs for you.

In the meantime, let us assume few things and clarify a few others.

(1) The dish size is not critical to get to the point where all channels could be received. The larger antenna will only improve performance especially in bad weather conditions.
(2) The decoder you have is we assume an Explora model 1. Optimist should be able to post what you will see on the information screen where one can see which type of decoder it is.
(3) This particular Explora should work fine with a SATCR LNB, except possibly for the channels that are now on the few hi-band transponders. BUT setting the decoder for SATCR standard as apposed to SATCR universal should give you the best chance of getting it to work.
(4) One cannot unfortunately only optimize the for one tuner. These new decoders require ALL the tuners to work properly.
(5) Let us assume the older antenna is aligned properly until proved otherwise.
(6) The only adjustment you should do is to the skew angle. The "depth that the LNB is in the support bracket does not make much difference so I suggest you place the SATCR LNB in the same position as the previous one for a start.
(7) Set the skew angles closely as you can to the calculated value and see what you get on all tuners. Tune to a know vertical channel and hor channel for live TV . Set a recording as well on both and record the values for all 3 tuners each time. Optimist will suggest which channels to use.
(8) Then we can take it from there.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-10-16 at 10:49. .
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-10-16 , 10:42
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
(2) The decoder you have is we assume an Explora model 1. Optimist should b able to post what you will see on the information screen where one can see which type of decoder it is.
The first line does refer to "Model 25" so definitely an Explora. The front left of the decoder is also clearly labelled "DStv Explora".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
(3) ...BUT setting the decoder for SATCR standard as apposed to SATCR universal should give you the best chance of getting it to work.
Unfortunately there's definitely no setting for those kind of adjustments on any Exploras.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
(7) Set the skew angles closely as you can to the calculated value and see what you get on all tuners. Tune to a know vertical channel and hor channel for live TV . Set a recording as well on both and record the values for all 3 tuners each time. Optimist will suggest which channels to use.
Tune to (for tuner 1) and also test-record (for tuner 2) channels 262 & 405.
These channels should give near highest results.


One other issue I think needs further response - initially the old dish (the one now in use) was said to have a 25 metre cable distance, now 40 metres was mentioned...
And we still don't know how old that cable is. If older than 5 years (sounds likely) and a whole 40 metres long I would think that is a concern.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-10-17 , 09:33
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 325
Amethystin please can you private message me your number to call you
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the DStv SD PVR stop working at some time? CandyMan_ZA PVR Decoders 6 2015-06-23 10:00
TV Guide not working and PVR channel display not working kleeprop HD PVR 5 2013-09-29 07:39
Some channels on TV2 not working steveira56 Picture/Audio Quality 8 2011-10-27 11:13
Some channels not working (faulty lnb connection on pvr) Percyzn Service Queries 4 2011-04-13 09:36