Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Now > Remote Recording (Geolock) Failure
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-05-17 , 18:53
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Default Remote Recording (Geolock) Failure

Remote recording is great when you're away, unless you're really away.

Tried to set up a remote recording on my Explora (obviously) located in South Africa while overseas.

Doesn't work. I can see the guide, but the geolock prevents the recording at home.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-05-22 , 19:35
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Anyone able to sort this out?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-05-22 , 21:37
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,231
Unfortunately we cannot unlock the geolock as your log in enables you to access content as well, and our content agreements prevent us from leaving that open. Sorry we can't be of further help in this instance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-05-23 , 08:24
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
Unfortunately we cannot unlock the geolock as your log in enables you to access content as well, and our content agreements prevent us from leaving that open. Sorry we can't be of further help in this instance.
Well, that's really stupid. What's the point of a remote recording feature that can't remote record?

With respect, I suggest the developers are giving you the run around again. I can see the program guide, the little button is available and it's only when I attempt to record the show on my Explora that the error surfaces.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-05-23 , 08:29
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,509
It should be possible to separate security coding for content access and remote recording access without too much of a headache, perhaps the suggestion can be put forward.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-05-29 , 16:23
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Yes certainly should be possible as somewhere in the setup on MCs side they should be able to establish from the decoder's IP address, where it is.

@ Simon, have you tried to set up a VLAN to access your home network and then do the settings like that?

Not sure if this would work, and I do not have the facilities to try it.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-29 at 16:40. .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-05-29 , 19:34
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Yes certainly should be possible as somewhere in the setup on MCs side they should be able to establish from the decoder's IP address, where it is.
Actually, it doesn't matter. The geolock is on the app, not the decoder.

Every aspect of the app works outside of the country, from billing to EPG. If you attempt to playback content, a geographic test is done and the playback is prevented. It is not necessary to do this test for a remote record. It's shoddy development. Plain and simple.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-05-29 , 22:03
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,509
Simon, here's the original thread about this from a few years back with a few answers and some further thoughts: Explora - far remote use of new remote functions?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-05-29 , 22:23
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
You'd think after a few years, they'd have sorted this stupidity out.

As I said, I have all functionality on the DSTV Now App and the DSTV website other than watching and remote recording.

I can see how MC might dig their heels in over the watching, which I'm not going to argue in this thread.

I cannot see the point in preventing remote recording.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording failure Lovecable General 1 2014-05-07 13:08
Power failure whilst recording JJV7 HD PVR 3 2011-07-08 10:39
Another UEC Bug: Remote and Front Panel Failure Patrick No 1 HD PVR 3 2010-04-26 14:30
Recording failure on HDPVR gerrybrits@vodamail.co.za HD PVR 5 2010-01-28 13:35
SDPVR Hard drive failure chrisvdh SD PVR 2 2009-05-25 15:53