Forum > Decoders > Installation > Explora stuck on "load" due to (possibly) faulty HDMI splitter(?)
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2017-04-26 , 11:17
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Field Services View Post
no probs, was just confirming with you that tge update had taken place and the version your explora was on
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Are you saying the decoders will output DVB-T2 digital signals that will allow the DVB-T2 tuner in a modern TV to be used instead of the analogue tuner we are used to?

If so I assume it is only the HD decoder/Explora 2A and maybe the Explora 1 that is digital tuner compatible.
Did you see this question I posed to you about HD over cable?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2017-04-28 , 08:25
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 269
sorry Geoff. no there is new technology for distributing HD over coaxial.
Its a Hdmi to Digital convertor which than sends the signal over coaxial.
it works like cat6 convertor but its more stable and you don't need receivers as long as you have digital tuners in the Tv set
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2017-04-28 , 08:29
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 269
http://www.spacetv.co.za/pages/our-p...-hdmi-5150.php
SpaceHD HDMI / AV to DVB-T Digital Modulator
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2017-04-28 , 09:31
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,712
Thanks for the confirmation MC Field Services.
That's what I thought was needed.

Do you have any hands on experience with this specific unit? Seems to be a re-branded Lemco product.
I specifically would like to know if it will work when connected to an existing RF distribution setup (if the digital signal passes through splitters and TV links OK and unaffected by the XV HB or if it needs a dedicated RF network) and if it can deliver Dolby Digital 5.1 audio to the TV to be passed on to an AV receiver via the TV's optical output. The manual does state that it supports Mpeg2, ACC, AC3 audio encoding, so it seems that it should.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2017-04-28 , 12:00
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Thanks David for the info, very interesting development. I se the Space TV device is built to the DVB-T standard -- any ideas if they intend going DVB-T2?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2017-04-28 , 13:45
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 269
unfortunately I've not tested the product in a existing xtraview distribution, so I cant say it should have an impact. but I doubt it would have any negative impact as its given its own uhf signal which you can select.
As far as I know we only use DVB-T2 for broadcasting for space saving of bandwidth, however maybe their product is supporting other countries that are still on DVB-T.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2017-04-28 , 16:57
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
The other issue that is relevant is if the products have been tested for compatibility with MCs remote control via tvLINKs. I see some of the products listed on their website do say they are IR compatible, but the detail is missing as to how this works.

It seems a bit pointless though as there are now really very smart HDMI extenders around (also on the SpaceTV website). I guess the benefit is that exist RF distribution can be used.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2017-04-28 , 16:58
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG View Post
Thanks for the confirmation MC Field Services.
That's what I thought was needed.

Do you have any hands on experience with this specific unit? Seems to be a re-branded Lemco product.
I specifically would like to know if it will work when connected to an existing RF distribution setup (if the digital signal passes through splitters and TV links OK and unaffected by the XV HB or if it needs a dedicated RF network) and if it can deliver Dolby Digital 5.1 audio to the TV to be passed on to an AV receiver via the TV's optical output. The manual does state that it supports Mpeg2, ACC, AC3 audio encoding, so it seems that it should.
I would think the signal would pass through existing splitters etc. Not so sure about the SLX splitters though.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2017-05-02 , 17:03
CASPER CASPER is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Field Services View Post
http://www.spacetv.co.za/pages/our-p...-hdmi-5150.php
SpaceHD HDMI / AV to DVB-T Digital Modulator
At a cost of almost R7000 at Space TV, It is not an option most of us can afford.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2017-05-03 , 10:02
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,712
There certainly are various cheaper options, especially since it requires a TV with a built-in compatible digital tuner, so you have to have a reasonably new TV. There are similar cheaper options from a site that's been mentioned on here before (not sure if I'm allowed to mention it by name or provide a link to the product), but it seems to require both a transmitter and receiver unit. I'm not sure if a TV with a built in digital tuner does not need the latter - I honestly haven't spent much time researching this as I have no need for it in my current setups.

I suspect that future decoders will eventually have this built-in (output a digital RF signal), but we are probably many, many years away from that.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI Splitter - Explora roriru Installation 3 2016-04-06 13:35
Explora stuck in a load cycle drew_cpt PVR Decoders 27 2015-04-12 19:17
New Explora stuck on LOAD shintorojin Installation 5 2015-02-03 10:22
Carte Blanche 'spin-off' programs possibly being replaced Brian G DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2010-12-06 23:59
A thought, caution and possibly advice (Earthing) Simon XtraView 8 2009-03-17 09:42