Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Explora seeking channel issue
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-04-19 , 14:17
richardbl richardbl is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Default Explora seeking channel issue

Hi I have 2 explora connected via extra view - the secondary Explora has an issue where it will suddenly start seeking channels as if you press the right hand button and the only way to stop it s to exit and then it drops you into wrong channel - if you leave it it ends up on the music side and you have to press TV to get back and it keeps on doing it until a reboot which usually stabilises it fro a few hrs ???strange one - no remote infra reds and no buttons are pushed it just starts at any random time
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-04-19 , 14:28
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,476
Step one is to check what the settings are on both decoders for responding to remote commands.

Are both decoders in the same room of in different rooms?
If in the same room THEN, the decoders must NOT relay commands between each other.

If in different rooms, then the decoders should be set to only respond to one viewing mode, relay the other and all other modes should be set to ignore.

Any tvLINKs in the install?

The cause could be a stuck P+/P- key on one of the remotes.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-16 at 17:26. .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-05-16 , 17:19
richardbl richardbl is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks Geoff

Checked all above - are in same room and rlay was off - set decoder to mode3 in case it was some sort of interference and was even worse. Checked buttons on decoder and P- was NOT working. Over past couple of days its been running continously up the channel list and stops in the 800'sit then started to reboot and then got stuck in load after three power down and ups, which I took as a decent cue to get it into the multichoice branch.

The obvious happened there -as punishment to me as I am in IT game - it worked perfectly there. Back in this environment after removing all HD extenders and splitters - now running straight from box to TV - starts up and now just changes channel every 15 min or so with no input but doesnt run away like it did.

Weird one ....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-05-16 , 17:31
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,476
Maybe IR interference form somewhere. What TV is installed close to the decoders? Dopes it have a backlight function? If so try and disable that as it could be causing the IR interference.

Try and block off the front panel IR detector with some black insulation tape and see if the problem stops. If it does, you will need to carry on looking for the source of the interference.

LEDs CFL lamps, reflected sunlight direct sunlight have all been found to be possible sources if interference.

Don't have a remote with a stuck button?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-07-18 , 19:47
richardbl richardbl is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Default replaced

Finally gave up with the decoder as problem worsened - took it into multichoice branch and it did it in the shop proving that it wasnt environment - they changed it out R600 later and new one is performing perfectly. Intererstingly guy in the shop reckoned that this is not first time he has seen that !!
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking advice: horizontal channels not working Terrence Installation 19 2016-01-27 12:53
HDMI issue on Explora on reboot Kang Explora HD PVR 4 2014-01-29 21:10
Seeking dual-view PVR liseldaniels SD PVR 1 2010-09-03 10:58
Confused & desperately seeking assistance Takes174 Standard decoder 2 2009-08-26 10:31