Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2017-04-04 , 10:49
OuToppie OuToppie is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Your symptoms are a more unique behaviour, and that's not correcting itself. My opinion is that there's maybe some sort of corruption, perhaps the harddrive itself.

Probably not the kind of thing that can be resolved here, I suggest taking the decoder in to a service centre (an agency is not going to be as capable).
If you have one or more other decoders in your setup, keep that running while this one is taken in. Also a good idea to first watch the most important recordings on it, if you can.
Thank you for your quick response and for all the help on this forum. Please refer to my next post.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2017-04-04 , 10:50
OuToppie OuToppie is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pretoria
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Pamela View Post
Hi OuToppie

I’ll need certain info on your decoder in order to assist accordingly. Under download manager, go to the affected titles and press info. Then send me the screen-shots which include all the info on the specific titles, I’ll forward it to our tech team to look into and advise.
Thank you for your quick response. Before abiding with your request, the following:

Last night in the spur of the moment and after the SO went to bed, I started to do some testing.
1. I downloaded the latest episode of Black Sails. When it was downloaded I watched it. No "freezing" of either the picture nor sound occurred. I only watched about 30 seconds.(The SO and I usually watch it together), I then initiated the download of the latest episodes of Aftermath.

2. This morning I watched one of the episodes of Aftermath for about 30 seconds for the same reason as mentioned in 1. above. No "freezing" occurred,

3. I the tried to watch a movie downloaded on 1 April but the picture and sound "freezed". I stopped the playback and chose not to delete the download. I must mention that this was in the "freezed" state but the menus could still be used. I navigated to catch-up, searched for and found the movie and deleted it, I then initiated a download of the same movie which was duly queued and the download started. I then rebooted the Explora using the plug out method expecting the download to continue after the interruption.
After waiting the usual time after rebooting, I checked on the actions I did pre booting. I had to delete the movie again and again initiated the download. It appears thus that the actions I took while the decoder were in a "freezed" state never happened.
When download finished, I watched it, again for about 30 seconds, without "freezing".

4. It would thus appear that something happened after 1 April that fixed my problem. I can watch CU + again.

Last edited by OuToppie; 2017-04-04 at 10:56. .
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:02
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,007
That's great news!

Quote:
Originally Posted by OuToppie View Post
It appears thus that the actions I took while the decoder were in a "freezed" state never happened.
Some actions require a few minutes for them to be stored more permanently in memory. I normally suggest a 5+ minute wait before rebooting, although in some cases longer and even MC have at times suggested up to 15 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:09
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
I confirm. Too quick on your evaluation as well. 30 seconds is not near enough to evaluate. Should also FF to a few places and play at least 5 minutes before drawing any conclusions.

And no, you cannot reboot the decoder by whatever means you like so quickly. You need to give the sw time to store away the data about settings AND create the backup on the HDD before rebooting.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:12
Simon Simon is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
And no, you cannot reboot the decoder by whatever means you like so quickly. You need to give the sw time to store away the data about settings AND create the backup on the HDD before rebooting.
Why is there no menu option to do a "safe" reboot?
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:14
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Why is there no menu option to do a "safe" reboot?
Not sure what you mean by a "safe reboot".

However, I think people resort to this "remedy" far too easily and most of the time for nothing.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:22
Simon Simon is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Not sure what you mean by a "safe reboot".
As in the "Restart" option on a Mac/PC. Basically manually forcing the early morning reboot.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:23
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
Why is there no menu option to do a "safe" reboot?
I've often suggested that an advanced menu would allow for more functionality, as there's many other control options that would be helpful as we all know.

This one however seems unapproachable - a delay before rebooting would confuse, the option in any menu wouldn't be discovered by too many, and getting rid of the delay doesn't appear feasible (it's been the case with all decoders all along).
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2017-04-04 , 11:25
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,007
Thought you meant a pre-organised delay for when any reboot is done by the user.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon View Post
As in the "Restart" option on a Mac/PC. Basically manually forcing the early morning reboot.
In our experience the daily automatic maintenance reboots don't reset as well as the soft or better still hard reboots.

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-04-04 at 12:14. . Reason: Clarity
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2017-04-04 , 13:11
MC Pamela MC Pamela is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by OuToppie View Post
Thank you for your quick response. Before abiding with your request, the following:

Last night in the spur of the moment and after the SO went to bed, I started to do some testing.
1. I downloaded the latest episode of Black Sails. When it was downloaded I watched it. No "freezing" of either the picture nor sound occurred. I only watched about 30 seconds.(The SO and I usually watch it together), I then initiated the download of the latest episodes of Aftermath.

2. This morning I watched one of the episodes of Aftermath for about 30 seconds for the same reason as mentioned in 1. above. No "freezing" occurred,

3. I the tried to watch a movie downloaded on 1 April but the picture and sound "freezed". I stopped the playback and chose not to delete the download. I must mention that this was in the "freezed" state but the menus could still be used. I navigated to catch-up, searched for and found the movie and deleted it, I then initiated a download of the same movie which was duly queued and the download started. I then rebooted the Explora using the plug out method expecting the download to continue after the interruption.
After waiting the usual time after rebooting, I checked on the actions I did pre booting. I had to delete the movie again and again initiated the download. It appears thus that the actions I took while the decoder were in a "freezed" state never happened.
When download finished, I watched it, again for about 30 seconds, without "freezing".

4. It would thus appear that something happened after 1 April that fixed my problem. I can watch CU + again.

Hi OuToppie

Great to hear .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Crash Investigation S14 - Randomised episode numbers Doug_Dread Broadcast Errors 10 2016-03-17 17:03
Dstv app crash on iOS 1verusha DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 13 2014-03-13 12:31
Richard Hammondís Crash Course Pete DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 10 2012-08-27 18:17
Crash During Playback ... Simon HD PVR 5 2010-01-06 09:59