Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Now > Prime Time Buffering
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-18 , 09:42
broadcom broadcom is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Default Prime Time Buffering

I've tried twice this week to watch DSTV online (Android app) at around 8pm and the buffering has been horrendous. This is using MTN business.

I applied the new app update last night and the blockiness / resolution went down to something awful (impossible to even recognise faces) and then back up to something reasonable then the buffering circle started appearing every 30 seconds or so making it impossible to watch.

Had to switch to an overseas service (no local CDN) and had no issues streaming at 720p for an hour and a half.

Is this an MTN peering issue, or are other people also experiencing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-18 , 21:18
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by broadcom View Post
I've tried twice this week to watch DSTV online (Android app) at around 8pm and the buffering has been horrendous. This is using MTN business.

I applied the new app update last night and the blockiness / resolution went down to something awful (impossible to even recognise faces) and then back up to something reasonable then the buffering circle started appearing every 30 seconds or so making it impossible to watch.

Had to switch to an overseas service (no local CDN) and had no issues streaming at 720p for an hour and a half.

Is this an MTN peering issue, or are other people also experiencing this?
I'm with Mweb and have the same issue. Guess the problem is on MultiChoice's side.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-22 , 17:33
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 366
I've just changed ISP's and I'm still having the same issue. It starts fine and in HD but then after a couple of minutes it buffers and changes to SD. Why is this happening and can it be sorted out?

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.

Last edited by Ermeric1; 2017-02-22 at 23:49. .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-03-12 , 19:28
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 366
Still happening MC. And no response for three weeks?

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-03-12 , 22:52
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 366
Why am I unable to stream on DSTV Now in HD but am able to do so with Netflix, Showmax and YouTube? Could someone please explain?

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-04-24 , 11:09
ramsbod ramsbod is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 5
Default Buffering problem

It is usually people in Cape Town who have the problem because DSTV are trying to serve the whole country from servers in Johannesburg. During peak hours most ISPs have bandwidth problems between Cape Town and Johannesburg. For Youtube and the like Google have caching servers in Cape Town. So their content is served locally.

My problem is DSTV keep telling me that I am the only person experiencing this problem and so it must be that there is something wrong with my equipment. I have sent them enough proof that this is not the case but they still deny it.

Let's see if anyone from DSTV actually reads their own forums and can give us their official response.

Otherwise let's get organised and start a facebook page where people can voice their frustrations.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-04-24 , 12:09
Ermeric1 Ermeric1 is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 366
Thanks for the explanation ramsbod. Pity MultiChoice doesn't say a word about this issue. They are loathe to admit a general problem and would rather have their customers believe that it's limited to them individually. The DSTV Now App is absolutely pathetic as I'm now receiving Error Messages that I never did before and coupled with the old buffering problem it's fast becoming unusable and a horrendous user experience.

Sent from my SM-N920C using Tapatalk
__________________
Explora HDPVR, Dual LNB, MS, XtraView, 1110 Decoder, Walka 7, Samsung UA46B8000 LED TV, Integra 30.2 AV Receiver, Sony BDP-S370 Blu-Ray Player, M&K Speaker System, Sony PS3.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-04-25 , 12:11
MC Lindi's Avatar
MC Lindi MC Lindi is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by broadcom View Post
I've tried twice this week to watch DSTV online (Android app) at around 8pm and the buffering has been horrendous. This is using MTN business.

I applied the new app update last night and the blockiness / resolution went down to something awful (impossible to even recognise faces) and then back up to something reasonable then the buffering circle started appearing every 30 seconds or so making it impossible to watch.

Had to switch to an overseas service (no local CDN) and had no issues streaming at 720p for an hour and a half.

Is this an MTN peering issue, or are other people also experiencing this?
Hi there

Please can you PM me your contact details - one of our guys would like to get hold of you to run some tests. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-04-25 , 12:12
MC Lindi's Avatar
MC Lindi MC Lindi is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramsbod View Post
It is usually people in Cape Town who have the problem because DSTV are trying to serve the whole country from servers in Johannesburg. During peak hours most ISPs have bandwidth problems between Cape Town and Johannesburg. For Youtube and the like Google have caching servers in Cape Town. So their content is served locally.

My problem is DSTV keep telling me that I am the only person experiencing this problem and so it must be that there is something wrong with my equipment. I have sent them enough proof that this is not the case but they still deny it.

Let's see if anyone from DSTV actually reads their own forums and can give us their official response.

Otherwise let's get organised and start a facebook page where people can voice their frustrations.
One of our tech guys is running some tests and would like to contact you to clarify a thing or two. Please could you PM me your contact details. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora decoder buffering remote commands ScrabbleKing Remotes 1 2014-06-12 07:29
No more Sat night prime time on M-Net? Krugie DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 32 2011-09-04 09:48
Decoder reboots during prime time Genesistt HD PVR 15 2011-08-30 23:26
BBC - Entertainment - TOO many repeats - Now repeating in Prime Time slots?? LesleyH DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 33 2011-05-16 14:09
Automatic upgrade during prime viewing time mauritius General 20 2010-07-25 20:44