Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Signal strength / quality on Explora
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2014-07-18 , 11:59
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu_Mack View Post
Sorry LNB ;-)

I am actually dreading the cable replacement, as there is a nasty Bougainvillea guarding the cables, gonna have to put my welding gloves for the exercise.

I do have a 60cm dish yes, if I need to upgrade to the 90cm then I can see my Explora going up for sale. The idea was replace the working HDPVR with the Explora and be smiling. This is not how it is going.....

Who sells the SamSAT LNB's? I see HD Cabling sells this: http://www.hdcabling.co.za/ku-band-t...rts-p-276.html
Which from the picture looks like a far higher quality item than the Ellies one
The issue is the HDPVR needs a 90cm to work properly, especially the HD channels. So having a dodgy install is not the Explora's fault. The fault is a dodgy/marginal install. Any decoder will give grief.
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2014-07-18 , 12:13
Stu_Mack Stu_Mack is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
My issue is that the HDPVR has worked for a year faultlessly on the current install.
Never had issues with the HD channels or recording, signal quality was 98% and signal strength was 100%
Now to get the Explora to work is going to cost close to R1000 in equipment. *sigh*
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2014-07-18 , 14:59
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,391
Relax,

FIRST check that the antenna is pointed properly, that there isn't some issue with skew angle that did not affect the HD PVR but affect the Explora, and the cables. THEN start talking about replacing equipment.

IF you find you need to replace the LNB, only then do the antenna upgrade. If it is just a pointing and skew angle issue, you can postpone the antenna upgrade.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2014-07-18 , 15:03
Stu_Mack Stu_Mack is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
I do hope so. Will fiddle on the weekend a replace step by step
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2014-07-24 , 09:49
Geko Geko is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Hi Stu,

Just to let you know I have the same issue with the new Explora and as far as I am concerned it is the Explora which is at fault (so I hope you didnt spend too much)

If the Explora is connected my signal strength is around 60/70%
If I connect the standard HD PVR to the same LNB cables / connections my signal strength goes up to 98%
The result is juddering on all the sport channels using the Explora, which is not there when the standard HD PVR is connected to the same TV and same connections to the dish.

I will be taking the explora in and will post the response.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2014-07-24 , 10:36
Stu_Mack Stu_Mack is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Hi Geko

I have the exact same symptoms.

I had a chat to the guys at HD Cabling who suggest getting a 90cm dish, as they have had clients with the same complaints with 60cm dishes.
They also suggest its a good time to replace the LNB and the cabling - not sure if that is just salesman speak. The LNB is R209, the cabling around R350 and the dish R320.

I have not bought any of it as yet.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2014-07-24 , 11:55
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,391
Just to set the record straight:

(1) MC have NEVER recommended or supported the use of 60 cm antennas. the specification has always been for a minimum antenna size of 90 cm.
(2) Secondly, It is only very recently that MC have stated that it is better for the future to make use of a quad LNB. Up until very recently, a TWIN LNB has been the recommendation for HD PVR installations.
Used with a MS, a TWIN LNB is currently adequate. An alternative has been to use SATCR LNBs, with 2 Legacy ports.
(3) MCs new recommendation for NEW installs after 1 August 2014, is to install a QUAD LNB, as this will provide flexibility when the new satellite comes on line in late 2015. It is NOT a requirement at the moment, so UNLESS you are planning to change an antenna, OR if a LNB goes faulty, there is NO immediate reason to rush out and replace LNBs.
(4) What we do know is the Explora is far more dependent on really good signal strengths and quality than any of the older decoders. Hence it is so easy to then point a finger at the installation whenever anyone complains.
(5) But there is plenty of evidence to show that the Explora decoder (hardware or software) is not blameless in all of these problems, even if the signal strength and quality values are perfect.

So if you think that just replacing the antenna, and the LNB, id going to make the current issue with judder etc. to go away, you are in for a disappointment --- the problem MAY go away, but there is NO guarantee that it will go away. What this change WILL allow is for you to be able to debunk any more accusations about your install being responsible and from up the view that the Explora decoder is the main issue .......


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu_Mack View Post
Hi Geko

I have the exact same symptoms.

I had a chat to the guys at HD Cabling who suggest getting a 90cm dish, as they have had clients with the same complaints with 60cm dishes.
They also suggest its a good time to replace the LNB and the cabling - not sure if that is just salesman speak. The LNB is R209, the cabling around R350 and the dish R320.

I have not bought any of it as yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geko View Post
Hi Stu,

Just to let you know I have the same issue with the new Explora and as far as I am concerned it is the Explora which is at fault (so I hope you didnt spend too much)

If the Explora is connected my signal strength is around 60/70%
If I connect the standard HD PVR to the same LNB cables / connections my signal strength goes up to 98%
The result is juddering on all the sport channels using the Explora, which is not there when the standard HD PVR is connected to the same TV and same connections to the dish.

I will be taking the explora in and will post the response.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2014-07-24 at 12:01. .
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2014-09-17 , 22:16
Homealone's Avatar
Homealone Homealone is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Glenvista (JHB South)
Posts: 545
My previous XtraView setup, a UEC 4T combined with a

UEC 2T, each gave me a 'full-house' for signal strength and quality readings.

In my new setup I replaced the UEC 4T with an Explora who's readings are:

(S Q) T1= 100 100; T2= 73 100; T3= 63 63 (view & rec chan 100),

(S Q) T1= 100 85; T2= 76 84; T3= 68 61 (view & rec chan 202),

with the UEC 2T still displaying the perfect readings.

I do not have issues associated with marginal installs.

I have not touched my 50 month-old install yet but feel the urge to tweak

the dish and skew angles to improve the readings.

Any comments welcome.
__________________
DIY installation, SLNB (LMX501), 88cm dish, XtraView via 'old school' HB cable, Explora-1 (primary), Explora-1 (secondary),
'SD 96' co-axial cables used and routed through 25mm PVC conduit pipe networks, Compression F-type connectors throughout.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2015-03-14 , 13:19
kingsleymomor kingsleymomor is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Exclamation Signal Issues...Urgent help needed

I have a pace 4T PVR and an Explora, My LNB is 4-way quad. the explora is the primary decoder and both have been in the living room. Actually since I got the explora, I haven't been using the Pace although once in a while, I use the pace to view previous recordings. However, problem started when 2 days ago I called an installer to help with extra view connection, I didn't want to always go to the living room to change channels because the RF out from the explora was connected to my TV in the bedroom. After Installation, the extra view didn't work. We thought it was a heartbeat signal issue. I notice the installer navigate to the network setting on the explora and then there was this display about network not found please check that your dish is properly installed.This morning I woke up to watch F1 and boom no signal at all. I called the installer and he assumed it was the LNB we changed it and yet no signal. I had to borrow the small decoder from my neighbour and when he tried it, the signal strenght and quality was 98/100% but when the pace or explora is connected, signal is zero. However, once is a long while, the explora with display signals strength and quality of 67/63% and the disappear. the pictures on the screen will show briefly and then breaks.

Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2015-06-20 , 22:00
faf_za faf_za is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 27
Hi all,I installed my Explora today coming from a 2 Tuner HD Pvr. 80cm dish with smart LNB. Signal strength on both tuners on the HD Pvr was 98% with quality on 100%. On the Explora tuner 1 is on 89% strength with quality only 83% and tuner 3 is only 72 strength and 60% quality. I am not sure why the values are so different between the 2 decoders. Should I align my dish better for the Explora to improve the signal values?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low signal quality but high signal strength Frankie_SA Picture/Audio Quality 5 2014-02-25 07:50
Explora Signal Strength. Racer Explora HD PVR 3 2013-11-16 09:34
Signal Strength and Quality Berjhay Installation 10 2012-05-24 14:39
Signal Quality / Strength roberichansen HD PVR 8 2010-02-25 13:10
Signal Quality/strength Switch XtraView 2 2009-01-26 22:54