Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-05-04 , 10:57
VishM VishM is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Default TV Link

For some reason my tv link is not working and was wondering if someone could assist. I have 2 explorer decoders connected to a Smart LNB. RF out to RF Out connected with a T and sent to a SLX splitter connected in the ceiling splitting to the bedrooms. The light is ON on the tv link, but when I use the remote in the bedroom, it does not do anything. Any idea what could be causing this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:07
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,023
Are the remotes you're trying in different rooms working if tried directly at the decoders?
Have you got anything else connected on route?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:19
VishM VishM is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Remotes work 100% when in front of the decoder. Nothing else on route. Direct from decoder to splitter and then tv. I even bought a new TV link eye from DSTV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:22
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,023
Ok, only other thing I can suggest is to make sure that your remote mode settings correspond and that the menu settings for both decoders are set to the RF Out port, but you sound like someone who will have checked that.

Let's see if anyone else has other suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:26
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by VishM View Post
Remotes work 100% when in front of the decoder. Nothing else on route. Direct from decoder to splitter and then tv. I even bought a new TV link eye from DSTV.
Make sure the decoder settings are correct At least one of the decoders must be set to provided power to the SLX splitter. With the T piece, only one of the decoders must be sending power to the SLX splitter, not both.

The tvLINKs in the BR should have a power light on it. Is it lit up?

If not check if you have installed it the right way around.

Next you would have to go and find that SLX splitter wherever it is and check that the power light in it is showing.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-04 at 11:29. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:42
VishM VishM is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Light is ON on the SLX splitter and the TV link.

When you say that only one must be sending power, I am assuming that I need to set one decoder to RF out and the other RF in?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:44
VishM VishM is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Also, what are the correct decoder settings for this type of installation?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:51
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by VishM View Post
Light is ON on the SLX splitter and the TV link.

When you say that only one must be sending power, I am assuming that I need to set one decoder to RF out and the other RF in?
I am informed that on the Explodas, there are two settings you need to make sure are correct.

(1) RF transmit port: BOTH should be set to RF OUT for your setup.

(2) tvLINK/Aux Power: Should ON, on the one and OFF on the other.

Then make sure the remotes are working correctly for the two remote modes.

Lastly verify that the Exploras are set to respond to only one mode each not both and if in the same room, they should not be relaying messages anywhere.

That is just about everything that could be wrong.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-05-04 , 12:45
VishM VishM is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks Geoff. I will check the settings this evening and revert.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-05-05 , 08:51
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 269
for trouble shooting I would test the TV link directly at the back of the decoder than try testing before the Slx and After the Slx and lastly back at the TV set.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 link Distribution TV Link Amp and CCTV Dataking PVR Decoders 1 2015-02-04 08:48
Getting E73 ("TV-Link Overload") on when using TV-Link on SD PVR maik Installation 4 2011-12-12 01:23