Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-04-13 , 15:29
malkie malkie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default Holiday

I want to move a decoder from my home to my holiday home. Tried to do this without success on the self service platform. Is that service no longer operating?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-04-13 , 15:43
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,154
It is still operating, there's been a couple of bugs with self service this week. Suggest you give it until at least Tuesday afternoon to try again, so the Mods have time to catch up and address it after the Easter weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-04-13 , 15:58
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,331
A bit late to the planned trip!

Get hold of the call centre is your only option now.

Otherwise shut down your service at home, and take along the Primary decoder. That will work provided the destination has a suitable antenna and LNB installed for you to connect to.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-04-13 , 19:30
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,078
You can simply take the decoder with you and providing the set up is the same on the other side, you should just be able to plug and play.
We also have a holiday home service where you can have a decoder allocated to there permanently, and only activate it when you need it and only pay for the days you have watched.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-04-13 , 20:53
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
You can simply take the decoder with you and providing the set up is the same on the other side, you should just be able to plug and play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by malkie View Post
I want to move a decoder...
But note that if you have XtraView (XV), as a second glance now suggests, you can only take the primary decoder with as far as taking one goes.
It is possible to temporarily change the XV arrangement via the call centre so that a decoder will work at each location if that's needed. MC Marietjie's suggestion to rather have a spare decoder for the holiday home makes most sense in the long run though else it's endless reconfiguring involved.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xtra view and holiday homes Peter L XtraView 4 2009-04-25 10:13
"Access" all channels with a sinlge LNB when on holiday XRay SD PVR 1 2009-04-15 16:33
Card does not work anymore in holiday home OMEGA1 Service Queries 5 2009-03-18 13:05
DSTV on holiday query Doug_Dread Service Queries 5 2009-02-06 08:03