Forum > Decoders > Installation > Smartcard Activation
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-04-03 , 14:08
kas-burner kas-burner is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Default Smartcard Activation

Hi, not sure if this is the correct subforum but...

My current HDPVR 2p is packing up, the pictures freezes and then when you exit it jumps to channel 100/101
Now I want to re-activate my old SD PVR and get the Explora 2.
Must I call the call centre to de-activate the HDPVR and activate the SDPVR.

Will Xtraview still work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-04-03 , 14:17
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,359
Hi,

It sounds like there's no XV (XtraView) at the moment.
Based on that - let the call centre just first de-active the still connected 2P and re-activate your SD PVR when connected.

Then, when you have the Explora 2A connected, get them to set up the new XV arrangement.

Note that the SD PVR is going to become less able in the future, it can't tune into the new "Hi Band" channels that will be launched in a few months or so.

Also, depending on what type of LNB you have you may need to upgrade equipment for the Explora (not included in the purchase), and those Hi Band future needs (better done early IMO).
Post detail if you want more help, but I'm about to go off the forum. All the best with it.

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-04-03 at 14:29. . Reason: Clarity
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-04-03 , 14:51
kas-burner kas-burner is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks Optimist will give them a call
I am at work and I disconnected the 2P this morning and connected the SD PVR with the old sim card.
Can I call them now or must I be at the tv?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-04-03 , 15:37
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by kas-burner View Post
Can I call them now or must I be at the tv?
If you call them with the 2P disconnected from your install it may not be shut down properly, although without any current XV and since you plan to scrap it that wouldn't be a problem.
So yes, you can call now, although it usually helps not to work blind
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activation of old smartcard tonydb Service Queries 5 2011-03-30 16:42
HD-PVR+SD-PVR Software Versions Required for XtraView Activation Patrick No 1 XtraView 32 2008-12-02 22:53
Activation of XtraView Pierneef XtraView 8 2008-11-25 13:39
XtraView Activation IsmailK XtraView 3 2008-11-24 12:17
Xtraview Activation Pierneef XtraView 1 2008-11-24 09:23