Forum > Customer service > Customer service > Error 102-29 Explora V2
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-20 , 12:41
DerekG DerekG is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 350
Default Error 102-29 Explora V2

Longish story, here goes.

My only occasionally used secondary PVR experienced this error a couple of months ago. Basically for those interested it says this is not a PVR, or not registered (or something like that)

I called customer service and they said they will clear it and did - albeit temporarily. However what it also did was delete all downloaded Catch-Up titles from my primary Explora. Additionally I now get occasional, perhaps once or twice a week, this same error message popping up on my primary while watching Catch-Up or recorded programs. This ends playback, drops into live TV, and I have to wait a couple of minutes before I can continue watching. Not a huge hassle so I have left it.

SIDEBAR: The most annoying issue with losing Catch-Up is not the several days it takes to download it all again but the loss of the ticks on the episodes you have watched so you have to start each one again to find where you are. First world problems hey.

I have not needed the secondary as a PVR (just watch news and live sport sometimes) since the original phone call but I regularly checked and the error had returned and it would not record or let you watch Catch-Up, and has been like that for weeks.

Now next week The Mother comes for a visit and needs a working PVR. Can we get this problem properly fixed on both units WITHOUT once again deleting all the Catch-Up on the primary? I fear another phone call will result in just that.

What do you need from me?
__________________
SLNB > Explora 2A(primary) > UEC HDPVR 4 tuner (secondary). Video and Audio: HDMI >Amp. TV (Sony 42" LCD)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-20 , 14:47
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,332
There is an issue with how your service has been setup. The ONLY way to solve this is with MCs help. I suggest you send MC Solomon a PM message with your account details and a phone number where he can contact you so that your account details can be thoroughly checked.

In the meantime, we can help by verify that there is not something fundamentally wrong with the installation which is causing problems.

To do this, we need details about your install.

(1) the type of LNB used.
(2) The secondary decoder - which one is it?
(3) Are both decoders installed in the same room or in different rooms?
(3) How has the HB cable been run between the decoders?
(4) What are the signal levels on all 3 tuners on the Explora and on all the tuners on the secondary decoder?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-02-20 at 18:08. .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-20 , 16:24
MC Solomon MC Solomon is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 201
thanks Geoff D
I fully agree with you, if it is not tech related, the error in question usually occurs when the PVR product (HD PVR Access Fee) is not active on the PVR.
This is why we need the DStv account details to check
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-02-21 , 12:51
DerekG DerekG is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 350
Thanks Geoff and Solomon. I have sent a PM to MC.
Pretty sure it's not the install but if MC cannot sort the error I will turn to the install questions. (Signal levels are great)
__________________
SLNB > Explora 2A(primary) > UEC HDPVR 4 tuner (secondary). Video and Audio: HDMI >Amp. TV (Sony 42" LCD)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-02-23 , 17:43
DerekG DerekG is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 350
2 days and no one from MC has contacted me.
__________________
SLNB > Explora 2A(primary) > UEC HDPVR 4 tuner (secondary). Video and Audio: HDMI >Amp. TV (Sony 42" LCD)
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error with Braindead on 102 - wrong day Optimist Broadcast Errors 5 2016-07-21 17:57
Error code 102-29 eugenedp Customer service 9 2016-02-25 08:37
cu+ download failed error 102 cannot d/l or watch anything rolyman PVR Decoders 18 2015-05-29 17:37