Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > Sound drop out when exiting Supersport Interactive
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2008-11-23 , 17:52
tony r's Avatar
tony r tony r is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coastal townie
Posts: 120
Default Sound drop out when exiting Supersport Interactive

Any one noticed the brief sound drop out when exiting interactive services? If so any ideas why? It is not a major problem because it is so brief, but is clearly there.
__________________
"an ounce of performance is worth pounds of promises" Mae West
  #2  
Old 2008-11-23 , 18:30
Merv's Avatar
Merv Merv is offline
A big, eagle-eyed baobab.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westville, Durban
Posts: 5,212
I guess you've only had your decoder about a month?
Before the last software update it would reset the channel causing a delay of upto 10 secs in video & audio, so its now down to half a second which we quite satisifed with, for the moment
  #3  
Old 2008-11-23 , 20:44
tony r's Avatar
tony r tony r is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coastal townie
Posts: 120
Nah I've had mine since day 1 of release and have only really noticed since last s/w update, defintely not there b4 the latest release. I certainly never had the channel reset or 10 sec delay. Cannot recall seeing it on the wiki either but will go back and check, I doubt that Patrick will not have it.
__________________
"an ounce of performance is worth pounds of promises" Mae West
  #4  
Old 2008-11-23 , 20:45
georgelza georgelza is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
Default Sound breakup

Hi there

My HD PVR has the habit to make the sound break up, think of someone that had a hole cut in his throat and talk via a talk box, That is where i starts and then goes worse.

To fix I got to channel up or down and then back. all normal then again for a short period.

anyone also having this. (seriously I did not join a beta team, if MCA expects the HD to be accepted by the public they need to fix these, One of the guys at the office referred to the HD as a sad beta program and he def holding off a year, I can't blame him after my first month)

Firware 2.288
Loader 3.6
Appl SW 1.14.0.84

SC Ver 5.4 build 39
CA Build 3.6.8Pace/MCABuild1
CA SW 3.6.8PAC..3.5.13


G
  #5  
Old 2008-11-23 , 21:00
Merv's Avatar
Merv Merv is offline
A big, eagle-eyed baobab.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Westville, Durban
Posts: 5,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony r View Post
Nah I've had mine since day 1 of release and have only really noticed since last s/w update, defintely not there b4 the latest release. I certainly never had the channel reset or 10 sec delay. Cannot recall seeing it on the wiki either but will go back and check, I doubt that Patrick will not have it.
hmm, thats a little weird. You right, i dont see it on the Wiki or on the fixed issues. Coulda sworn it was a general issue
  #6  
Old 2008-11-23 , 22:57
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 229
@Georgelza

I have experienced this a few times but it only happens temporarily on some prgrams and is limited to that particular program on that particular channel. Therefore I don't think it is a HDPVR problem but rather a uplink problem.
  #7  
Old 2008-11-24 , 18:41
georgelza georgelza is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 121
Hi there

If a uplink problem then it should be on the SD PVR also, but not. only on HD.

G
  #8  
Old 2008-11-24 , 20:21
Barendb's Avatar
Barendb Barendb is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pretoria, Doornpoort
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgelza View Post
Hi there

If a uplink problem then it should be on the SD PVR also, but not. only on HD.

G
Do you use the SD's Fibre Toslink or Digital Coax for sound or normal Stereo?
Could be that it only happens with the digital sound.
And we are talking about 2 differant problems. Sound breakup when going out of interactive services and normal sound breakup during broadcasting
The last one is in some cases uplink and in other cases depending on what you do a problem with the PVR. Try playing Slow Mo in the buffer and then resume normal play in the buffer. Mine loses sound for about 15 sec.

Last edited by Barendb; 2008-11-24 at 20:25. .
  #9  
Old 2008-11-25 , 15:27
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgelza View Post
Hi there

If a uplink problem then it should be on the SD PVR also, but not. only on HD.

G
No you would not see it on the SDPVR as it does not receive the HD channel which is a different broadcast altogether.
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off