Forum > DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) > DStv Products > HD PVR > HD PVR attempting DL any time it likes
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-04-10 , 08:51
Genesistt Genesistt is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somerset West
Posts: 237
Default HD PVR attempting DL any time it likes

Is anyone else having the problem with their HD PVR attempting downloads at all hours of the day and night?

Like last night we were watching Top Chef Masters and 5 minutes before the end the main decoder in our house went dark, flashed DL and then when it didn't find anything, rebooted.

Luckily we have ExtraView in the house, and my decoder was still running, but then 30 minutes later, mine flashed DL, didn't find anything and then rebooted.

Then about 2 hours later we repeated the whole scenario with the end of The Lovely Bones!

What's the point of setting an automatic download time in your decoder setup if you're not sticking to it?!

Otherwise just give me the option to manually check for updates and I'll run them when it suits me, because clearly you (and by you I mean DSTV!) can't stick to your own set automatic time of 3am!
  #2  
Old 2011-04-10 , 09:03
Brian G Brian G is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,606
When the decoders begin a reboot sequence they always display DL as part of doing that, but it doesn't necessarily mean a download is in progress.

There was some work being done yesterday relating to one of the transponders on the satellite, details as to why are unknown, so this could explain why this rebooting was happening but that's just a guess...

Last edited by Brian G; 2011-04-10 at 09:26. .
  #3  
Old 2011-04-10 , 10:00
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genesistt View Post
..........flashed DL and then when it didn't find anything, rebooted......
It's not trying to download, most likely it's simply crashing and rebooting, Genesistt.

Let us know which PVR you have and more about your config and perhaps we can help you. Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2011-04-10 at 11:57. .
  #4  
Old 2011-04-10 , 10:17
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,837
also got the twice reboot on my UEC yesterday evening in the space of about 20 min
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

silent witness
  #5  
Old 2011-04-10 , 10:57
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,837
.....and another one as i am watching f1
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

silent witness
  #6  
Old 2011-04-10 , 11:03
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,375
Question reboots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulani View Post
.....and another one as i am watching f1
Hi Tulani, I've also had 4 unexplained reboots on my UEC since Friday evening.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
  #7  
Old 2011-04-10 , 11:08
Tulani's Avatar
Tulani Tulani is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Hi Tulani, I've also had 4 unexplained reboots on my UEC since Friday evening.
a bug? Transponder issues? What do you make of it Pal? Can't get a recording going coz it wil be cut short.
__________________
8Way Universal LNB; (UEC 4tuner HDPVR primary;digital coax to hometheater, HDMI to HDTV +1110 secondary;SDTV)

silent witness
  #8  
Old 2011-04-10 , 11:12
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,375
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulani View Post
a bug? Transponder issues? What do you make of it Pal? Can't get a recording going coz it wil be cut short.
Dunno, Tulani. My 2P has been rock solid over the same period. Just checked again and volume on the UEC was 50% so another reboot in the night when nothing being touched.

I don't claim to have knowledge of any of the transmission stuff, so no idea why this might happen. Comments, Geoff?

Cheers, K
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
  #9  
Old 2011-04-10 , 11:30
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Dunno, Tulani. My 2P has been rock solid over the same period. Just checked again and volume on the UEC was 50% so another reboot in the night when nothing being touched.

I don't claim to have knowledge of any of the transmission stuff, so no idea why this might happen. Comments, Geoff?

Cheers, K

yes the reboots struck yesterday as reported by others - really ****** me off, messed up recording of the Rugby and the other recordings I had set

why the hell 4 reboots over one weekend ---??

Then the same started happenining on the SD decoder ----- just not on when this strikes in prime viewing time because someone in MC is playing silly buggers !!

It all started when the data stream to the one transponder was dropped -----
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2011-04-10 at 11:33. .
  #10  
Old 2011-04-11 , 06:56
ajax ajax is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 164
I have the same problem - UEC 4P. Had 2 reboots while watching shows this weekend. It seems to crash completely. If I leave it for 20 minutes it still shows "DL" or something. Power cycling and rebooting works. But it is very annoying. And recordings that was busy at the time get lost.

I have been observing this problem for the last couple of months already but wasn't frequent enough to bother me, but it seems to have been increasing lately.
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
See, MC is attempting to keep us quiet Syphlex DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2011-03-19 10:23
i-Plate time is 2 minutes slower than program start time Renee DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 10 2010-09-08 11:55
GMT Time on PVR savvycat HD PVR 18 2008-12-05 23:00