Forum > Decoders > Installation > Using Smart LNB not need HeartBeat
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-03-27 , 16:40
axl_logic axl_logic is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 21
Default Using Smart LNB not need HeartBeat

I replaced a quatrol LNB to SLNB which is connected to one explora and one DSD1132, So I removed the heartbeat cable because the SLNB has a built-in Diplexer. But now is giving me an extra view alert message. Any advice guys?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-03-27 , 16:57
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,866
Someone else will confirm but my understanding is that the need for a HB cable only falls away if ALL the decoders in the setup are Exploras. The DSD1132 will still require a HB cable.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-03-27 , 18:57
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
True Krugie, although only the newer Explora 2A has it built in.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-03-28 , 09:04
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,136
When all decoders in XtraView are Explora 2, then no heart beat cable needed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-04-29 , 11:24
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
When all decoders in XtraView are Explora 2, then no heart beat cable needed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi

I currently have an HD PVR/SD PVR setup. I'm planning on linking 3 x Explora 2 via the new SLNB (decoders will be placed in different rooms). I want to be able watch all 3 decoders and control all 3 decoders in every room. The tv signal to each of the rooms will hopefully be carried by existing rf cables.

I will creating my own thread regarding this but for now:

1. I need to confirm that the heartbeat is transmitted via the smart lnb to the 3 explora 2's (as stated by MC Marietjie)

2. Am I correct in assuming that you can control any of the exploras without the need for a tv link by pointing the remote at any explora? i.e. To change the channel on the bedroom explora even if I am in the lounge or vice versa (As i think I've read on the forum)


I just spoke to an accredited installer listed on the dstv website and he says it's not possible to transmit the heartbeat via the SLNB. He says each they need to install diplexers behind each decoder.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Aadil; 2017-04-29 at 11:43. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-04-29 , 11:51
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Hi,

1. Correct, if using the SLNB then the designated primary Explora 2A will always automatically transmit the HB (heartbeat) to the other two secondary 2A's regardless of if you do or don't have any RF linking.

So the installer is wrong.
What he's misunderstood - all other known decoders that can use this via-Unicable option do require adding diplexers, the Explora 2A has a built in diplexer.

2. Correct, using the remote Relay settings will allow for this.


I'm not sure if I'll help with your own thread, it may be best to wait until Tuesday when more Mods & Forumites will be around.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-04-29 , 12:06
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,323
Please pass this info on to that accredited installer, or post the company name so that MC can contact them to sort out their confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-04-29 , 12:34
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Please pass this info on to that accredited installer, or post the company name so that MC can contact them to sort out their confusion.
I'll try to call them again but it was Dish Africa

Dish Africa
Telephone: 0110381111
BELLEVUE
2198
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-04-29 , 12:31
Aadil's Avatar
Aadil Aadil is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Joburg
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Hi,

1. Correct, if using the SLNB then the designated primary Explora 2A will always automatically transmit the HB (heartbeat) to the other two secondary 2A's regardless of if you do or don't have any RF linking.

So the installer is wrong.
What he's misunderstood - all other known decoders that can use this via-Unicable option do require adding diplexers, the Explora 2A has a built in diplexer.

2. Correct, using the remote Relay settings will allow for this.


I'm not sure if I'll help with your own thread, it may be best to wait until Tuesday when more Mods & Forumites will be around.
Thanks for the quick reply. I appreciate it.

Yes, I'll be posting it in the next couple of days or Tuesday. No rush.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-03-28 , 09:50
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 325
The dsd1131 requires a heartbeat cable as it works on legacy feed only and a diplexer on works through unicable , this installation will not work without a conventional heartbeat between the explora2 and the Dsd1131.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Installations using the Smart LNB Geoff D Installation 180 2017-07-18 19:04
Heartbeat with Smart Lnb wezhira Installation 34 2016-06-08 08:37
Replaced my SATCR LNB with Smart LNB now I have problems deejaycee_2000 Installation 21 2016-05-24 09:54
Smart lnb - heartbeat cable swalker Installation 4 2015-07-27 23:07
Xplora & Dual view SDPVR xtraview using DSTV smart LNB Flipster Installation 3 2015-07-01 15:53