Forum > Value Added Services > DStv Catch Up > Incorrect Widescreen notices
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-04-06 , 19:19
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,872
Default Incorrect Widescreen notices

Certain shows on CathUp like 7de Laan and Generations (and I assume all SABC shows) are indicated as widescreen (WS) on CatchUp while they are in fact 4x3.

They are also shown as being HD which might also be incorrect (not sure).
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-04-08 , 15:02
MC Pamela MC Pamela is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krugie View Post
Certain shows on CathUp like 7de Laan and Generations (and I assume all SABC shows) are indicated as widescreen (WS) on CatchUp while they are in fact 4x3.

They are also shown as being HD which might also be incorrect (not sure).
Hi Krugie

Apologies for the delay. The CU team has advised that they will look into bettering this. Currently this is how they received it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-04-11 , 09:29
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,401
Yes it is a mess! I see even "linear TV" is a mess! I thought we had reached a point where the SABC had got things right and was broadcasting their channels and content in widescreen?

Certainly not the case with 7 de Laan, B & B, Days, Vetkoekpaleis. It seems we have gone back 3- 4 years and how 4:3 content should be handled by broadcasters.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-04-11 , 09:42
Simon Simon is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3,211
The tagging is generally terrible. Dobly Digital missing all over the place, etc.
__________________
In the land of the blind, the man who says he has one eye is king.
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right!
Say "NO" to Stretch-O-Vision
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-04-11 , 09:51
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
I thought we had reached a point where the SABC had got things right and was broadcasting their channels and content in widescreen?
No, not at all.
Only eTV made the transition, and that's only with their HD feed.

Maybe the SABC are working on upgrading to widescreen on another bird?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-04-11 , 09:58
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
No, not at all.
Only eTV made the transition, and that's only with their HD feed.

Maybe the SABC are working on upgrading to widescreen on another bird?
I suspect they will only look into doing this when the digital migration is done - and at the current rate this will not be in my lifetime!
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-04-11 , 13:22
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,140
Folks the Catch Up guys are looking into the Widesceen indication on the shows on this service.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-04-12 , 23:31
WDP1 WDP1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 57
I have noticed recently that the information panel on Nat Geo and Nat Geo Wild often indicates that shows are in HD when this obviously isn't the case.

Although, could it be a sign of an imminent future change?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-04-13 , 21:45
MC Pamela MC Pamela is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDP1 View Post
I have noticed recently that the information panel on Nat Geo and Nat Geo Wild often indicates that shows are in HD when this obviously isn't the case.

Although, could it be a sign of an imminent future change?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi WDP1

Sorry for the delayed response. Kindly confirm the shows in question, I'll check with our programming team and get back to you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-04-13 , 22:05
WDP1 WDP1 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Pamela View Post
Hi WDP1



Sorry for the delayed response. Kindly confirm the shows in question, I'll check with our programming team and get back to you.


Hi MC Pamela

There are two shows on right now reflecting the HD indicator, but in fact all shows on both channels from tonight until tomorrow reflect that they are HD on the TV guide. Pics attached of current shows with info detail.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INCORRECT SMART CARD and INCORRECT reference number for account malfortuin Service Queries 1 2014-04-03 16:03
Pre-emption notices Mad Cat DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 6 2013-04-08 12:53
Incorrect WideScreen on SS Catchup Simon DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 3 2011-04-05 14:58
Please explain Widescreen on SD-PVR vs Widescreen on HD PVR... KingKong SD PVR 6 2009-05-13 16:57
Widescreen on widescreen (Channel 170) Simon HD PVR 11 2009-02-26 14:26