Forum > Content > General > network setup
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-10-04 , 08:32
Brandon4zn's Avatar
Brandon4zn Brandon4zn is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: durban
Posts: 34
morning Optimist, 4u decoder isn't set on satcr and i'm on the compact package and all other channels are working fine so i will try adjusting the angle of the lnb to see if that works. i would also like to know if the size of the dish will also affect as my previous dish was bigger but i recently bought a house and the previous owner left his dish up which is much smaller than my original dish
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-10-04 , 08:38
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,502
Ok, that sounds better Brandon :-)

The smaller dish is probably good enough, but it is recommended to change it to 80 or 90cm sometime - see how the signals do in the rainy weather compared to your old dish.

For alignment - if you haven't done that yourself before, with certain knowledge of how to go about it, then rather wait for Geoff as he can offer you an alignment recipe - I don't know when he'll be here or if he'll post so also check your Private Messages for that from him (click on "USER CP" at the top of the forum page).

I don't think I can help more.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-10-04 , 08:54
Brandon4zn's Avatar
Brandon4zn Brandon4zn is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: durban
Posts: 34
thanks for the advice, the lnb i have changed myself its just about making small adjustments to the angle as my current smart lnb i installed myself but the only signal reference i had was my primary decoder as i hadn't connected the cabling for the secondary decoder when i moved into the new place
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-10-04 , 08:58
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,502
Sure thing, hope it does the trick.

Let us know if it works out, else if you need Geoff's further help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-10-04 , 09:02
Brandon4zn's Avatar
Brandon4zn Brandon4zn is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: durban
Posts: 34
kwel thanks, will check with Geoff with regards to correctly aligning the lnb before i climbing on the roof again and any success that i have i will definitely keep the forum updated
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-10-04 , 09:56
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Okay so what you should do is start by optimizing the skew angle adjustment.

If this does not work then you have three choices:

(1) Try to optimize the elevation and azimuth adjustments of the antenna yourself following the alignment recipe.

(2) Get an installer in to re-align the antenna for you.

(3) But if you do this you might as well increase the size of the antenna as well.

Use the 4U decoder for the adjustment rather than the HD PVR. The conversion form the receivd signals to the unicable outputs tends to hide alignment errors. It is unusual for VER polarized channels to be affected that badly, but not unheard of.

Send me a PM with your location details and I will calculate for you the correct angles. Rather give me an email address to send you the alignment process.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-10-04 at 09:59. .
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-10-04 , 10:07
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,502
Don't miss Geoff's further info edit.

@Geoff - all 3 of these channels are on the same transponder - 11554V, and no other Compact channels use that. So maybe it was one of those "odd behaviour" transponders?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-10-04 , 11:07
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,502
My Explora's ch. 110 HD is fine with quality at 100%.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon4zn View Post
The channels that reporting bad signal is 110,203,204 with signal strength at 100% but signal quality between 1 to 20%...
Does the reading fluctuate up and down every few seconds from 1 to 20%?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon4zn View Post
...yet all other channels are clear with values 100% and 85%.
Exploras and 4U decoders need a minimum of 90% Quality to be stable. The re-alignment should sort that out.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-10-04 , 11:08
Brandon4zn's Avatar
Brandon4zn Brandon4zn is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: durban
Posts: 34
yes it does
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-10-04 , 11:14
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,502
Ok, then it could mostly be a partially faulty SLNB (Smart LNB) , or even the 4U's tuner.
Geoff should be back later today to comment further.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network setup evanf Installation 1 2013-06-06 08:10
Network Setup evanf HD PVR 1 2013-06-06 00:56
Network settings on reboot Merv HD PVR 2 2008-12-08 16:49
No signal; network scan not completing Dave HD PVR 2 2008-12-06 13:53